Web.com Tour
NATIONWIDE - The Rex Hospital Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, May 31st through Sunday, June 3rd
SITE: TPC Wakefield Plantation, Raleigh, North Carolina
COURSE ARCHITECT: Hale Irwin (2000)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 7,257
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 472 Yds10 - Par 4 436 Yds
2 - Par 3 207 Yds11 - Par 4 417 Yds
3 - Par 4 375 Yds12 - Par 3 218 Yds
4 - Par 5 587 Yds13 - Par 4 371 Yds
5 - Par 3 170 Yds14 - Par 4 454 Yds
6 - Par 4 466 Yds15 - Par 5 573 Yds
7 - Par 4 455 Yds16 - Par 3 158 Yds
8 - Par 4 401 Yds17 - Par 4 480 Yds
9 - Par 5 577 Yds18 - Par 4 440 Yds
36, 3710 Yds35 3,547 Yds
Annual:  19th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Kyle Thompson
Runner-Up:  Scott Brown, Troy Kelly, Martin Flores
Tournament Record:  266 (Michael Christie, 1995; Brian Bateman, 1998;
  Mark Hensby, Manny Zerman, 2000;
  Kevin Johnson, Jeff Gallagher, 2009)
54-Hole Record:  193 (John Riegger, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Jimmy Green, 1998)
18-Hole Record:  60 (Jimmy Green, 1998 - Raleigh Country Club)
Course Record:  62 (Rob Bradley, 2003; Scott Brown, 2010)
Total Purse:  $550,000
Shares:  1st Place - $99,000; 2nd Place - $59,400; 3rd Place - $37,400
2011 Finish
Kyle Thompson270J.J. Killeen272
Scott Brown271Kyle Reifers272
Troy Kelly271Josh Geary273
Martin Flores271Brian Vranesh273
Ryan Armour272Danny Wax273
Past Rex Hospital Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Kyle Thompson (270) -- Scott Brown, Troy Kelly, Martin Flores
2010#John Riegger (193) -- Chris Nallen
2009*Kevin Johnson (266) -- Jeff Gallagher
2008Scott Gutschewski (270) -- Chad Ginn, Esteban Toledo
2007Kyle Thompson (268) -- Bob Burns
2006Brenden Pappas (268) -- Charlie Wi
2005Eric Axley (270) -- Troy Matteson
2004*Chris Anderson (271) -- Jason Buha, Paul Gow, Brendan Jones
2003David Morland IV (268) -- Rob Bradley, Vaughn Taylor
2002Zoran Zorkic (274) -- Doug Barron
2001John Maginnes (269) -- Ryuji Imada
2000*Mark Hensby (266) -- Manny Zerman
1999Vance Veazey (269) -- Steve Haskins, Glen Hnatiuk
1998Brian Bateman (266) -- Jimmy Green
1997Dan Bateman (284) -- Dennis Paulson, Steve Flesch, Terry Price
1996*#Glen Hnatiuk (205) -- Craig Perks
1995Michael Christie (266) -- Sean Murphy
1994Skip Kendall (276) -- Pat Bates

* - Won in Playoff

# - Weather Shortened

Note:Formerly called NIKE Carolina Classic (1994-99), BUY.COM Carolina
Classic (2000-02), SAS Carolina Classic (2003-04).

Top Contenders in the Field
Kyle ThompsonT-49T-67Won---mcmcWon
Ryan Armour3rdmc------T-39dqT-5
B.J. Staten---------T-38T-30T-3T-15
Luke List---------------T-63T-15
Darron StilesT-37------T-31T-30T-55T-29
Nick Flanagan---mcmc---mcT-42T-48
Jon MillsT-37---------mcmcT-63
Kevin Johnson---mc---mcWon---mc
Scott Gutschewski---T-5---Won---T-42---
Cameron Percy---------mcT-7------
Brenden PappasT-63Wonmc---mc------
Andres Gonzales---------T-52---------
Paul Haley II---------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - James Hahn
Darkhorse - Jim Herman
Last Week's Pick to Win (Luke List) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Woody Austin) - Missed the cut
The Nationwide Tour stops in North Carolina this week, as the PGA developmental tour tackles the TPC Wakefield Plantation. The top-12 players on the money list are in the field. Luke List currently leads the money list by more than $28,000 over Andres Gonzales. List has four top-10 finishes this year, including a win at the South Georgia Classic. He was the U.S. Amateur runner-up in 2004 to Ryan Moore.

Kyle Thompson will try to become the first player in Nationwide Tour history to successfully defend his title. Thompson has been playing on the PGA Tour this year, but has failed to make a cut in 10 events, with one withdrawal.

For the 12th consecutive year, the TPC Wakefield Plantation is hosting the tournament. Prestonwood Country Club hosted the event the first four years of its existence. Raleigh Country Club, which hosted for three years, was the first Donald Ross-designed course to host a Nationwide Tour event and was the last design by the fabled architect.

Last year, Thompson birdied the 18th hole in the final round to win by a single stroke over three players. Thompson fired four rounds in the 60s to finish at 14-under-par 270. The victory was his third on the Nationwide Tour, with his other titles both coming in 2007 at this event and at the Oregon Classic.

In 2010, John Riegger posted an eight-under 63 on Saturday to take a five-stroke lead, and play was called for the day Sunday before he had even struck his first tee shot. He finished at 20-under-par 193. Riegger's 54-hole total of 193 set a new tournament record. His total smashed Jimmy Green's 1998 mark by four shots.

In 2009, Kevin Johnson birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Jeff Gallagher. Johnson birdied the last hole in regulation from five feet to join Gallagher atop the leaderboard. The pair finished at 18-under 266 and matched the tournament scoring record set by several golfers before them.

In 2005, Eric Axley shot four rounds in the 60s, including a four-under 67 in the final round to win. He finished at 14-under-par 270, which was good for a two-shot victory over Troy Matteson. The win was Axley's first on the Nationwide Tour, a circuit he did not even have status on at the start of the week. He became the 18th Monday qualifier to win in tour history and the third left-hander.

Chris Anderson parred the eighth hole of a playoff in 2004 to defeat Brendan Jones, Paul Gow and Jason Buha. The eight-hole playoff tied for the second longest in Nationwide Tour history. Tom Lehman took eight holes to polish off John Wilson and Tim Straub at the 1991 Mississippi Gulf Golf Classic, but Eric Booker needed nine holes to defeat Notah Begay III at the 1998 Lehigh Valley Open. The four participants in the 2004 playoff also tied the Nationwide Tour record for most players in an extra session.

The Nationwide Tour moves to Mexico next week for the Mexico Open, where Erik Compton captured the 2011 tournament.

05/29 16:36:27 ET

As of May 29, 2012, at 04:36 PM ET