Formula One
Formula One - Indian Grand Prix Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, Oct. 27
SITE: Buddh International Circuit -- New Delhi, India
TRACK: 5.124 km (3.192 miles), 16-turn road course
CAPACITY: 100,000+
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
START TIME: 5:30 a.m. ET
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, Oct. 26/4:30 a.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Fernando Alonso
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (finished 1)
LAPS: 60
MILES: 191.52 (307.249 km)
QUALIFYING RECORD: Sebastian Vettel, 2011 (1 min., 24.178 secs.)
RACE RECORD: Sebastian Vettel, 2011 (1 hr., 30 mins., 35.002 secs.)
2012 Finish
1Sebastian Vettel16Felipe Massa6
2Fernando Alonso57Kimi Raikkonen7
3Mark Webber28Nico Hulkenberg12
4Lewis Hamilton39Romain Grosjean11
5Jenson Button410Bruno Senna13
2012 Indian Grand Prix Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 202.183 kph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 31 mins., 10.744 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 9.437 secs.
FASTEST LAP: Jenson Button, 1:28.203, lap 60
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (1:25.283)
Past Indian Grand Prix Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Sebastian Vettel (1) -- Red Bull-Renault -- 202.183 kph/1:31:10.744
2011 -- Sebastian Vettel (1) -- Red Bull-Renault -- 203.513 kph/1:30:35.002
Past Indian Grand Prix Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Sebastian Vettel -- 1
2011 -- Sebastian Vettel -- 1
Last Race Results
RACE: Japanese Grand Prix (Oct. 13)
SITE: Suzuka Circuit -- Suzuka, Japan
LAPS: 53
MILES: 191.117 (307.771 km)
WINNER: Sebastian Vettel
RUNNER-UP: Mark Webber
THIRD: Romain Grosjean
FOURTH: Fernando Alonso
FIFTH: Kimi Raikkonen
POLE WINNER: Mark Webber (finished 2)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 26 mins., 49.301 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 212.484 kph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 7.129 secs.
Indian Grand Prix Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1 *Sebastian Vettel (Heppenheim, Germ)Renault/Red Bull
2Mark Webber (Queanbeyan, Australia)Renault/Red Bull
3Fernando Alonso (Oviedo, Spain)Ferrari/Scuderia
4Felipe Massa (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Ferrari/Scuderia
5Jenson Button (Frome, England)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
6Sergio Perez (Guadalajara, Mexico)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
7Kimi Raikkonen (Espoo, Finland)Renault/Lotus
8Romain Grosjean (Geneva,Switzerland)Renault/Lotus
9Nico Rosberg (Wiesbaden, Germany)Mercedes/AMG Petronas
10Lewis Hamilton (Stevenage, England)Mercedes/AMG Petronas
11Nico Hulkenberg (Emmerich, Germany)Ferrari/Sauber
12Esteban Gutierrez (Monterrey, Mexico)Ferrari/Sauber
14Paul di Resta (Livingston, Scotland)Mercedes/Sahara Force India
15Adrian Sutil (Starnberg, Germany)Mercedes/Sahara Force India
16Pastor Maldonado (Maracay,Venezuela)Renault/Williams
17Valtteri Bottas (Nastola, Finland)Renault/Williams
18Jean-Eric Vergne (Pontoise, France)Ferrari/Scuderia Toro Rosso
19Daniel Ricciardo (Perth, Australia)Ferrari/Scuderia Toro Rosso
20Charles Pic (Montelimar, France)Renault/Caterham
21Giedo van der Garde (Rhenen, Nether.)Renault/Caterham
22Jules Bianchi (Nice, France)Cosworth/Marussia
23Max Chilton (Reigate, England)Cosworth/Marussia
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last two years)
Sebastian VettelWonWon
Fernando Alonso32
Mark Webber43
Lewis Hamilton74
Jenson Button25
Felipe Massa206
Kimi Raikkonen---7
Romain Grosjean---9
Nico Rosberg611
Mover of the Week
Esteban Gutierrez - started 14 and finished 7
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Sebastian Vettel
Last Week's Pick to Win (Sebastian Vettel) - Finished 3rd
The Indian Grand Prix at Buddh International Circuit is the 16th round on the 2013 Formula One calendar.

Sebastian Vettel from Red Bull presently holds a 90-point lead over his closest competitor, Fernando Alonso from Ferrari. If Vettel finishes fifth or better in the Indian GP, he will clinch his fourth consecutive F1 world championship, regardless of where Alonso finishes.

This will be the third running of the Indian GP. Vettel has started on the pole and won the first two races. Two months ago, F1's governing body, the FIA, announced the Indian GP will be discontinued in 2014. The event is expected to return in 2015.

Round 17 in this year's F1 world championship is the Nov. 3 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in the United Arab Emirates. Kimi Raikkonen is the defending race winner.

10/23 09:52:58 ET

As of October 23, 2013, at 09:53 AM ET