Formula One
Formula One - Korean Grand Prix Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, Oct. 6
SITE: Korean International Circuit -- Yeongam, South Korea
TRACK: 5.615 km (3.489 miles), 18-turn road course
CAPACITY: 135,000
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, Oct. 5/1 a.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Mark Webber
POLE WINNER: Mark Webber (finished 2)
LAPS: 55
MILES: 191.773 (308.630 km)
QUALIFYING RECORD: Sebastian Vettel, 2010 (1 min., 35.585 seconds)
RACE RECORD: Sebastian Vettel, 2012 (1 hr., 36 mins., 28.651 secs.)
2012 Finish
1Sebastian Vettel26Nico Hulkenberg8
2Mark Webber17Romain Grosjean7
3Fernando Alonso48Jean-Eric Vergne16
4Felipe Massa69Daniel Ricciardo21
5Kimi Raikkonen510Lewis Hamilton3
2012 Korean Grand Prix Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 191.938 kph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 36 mins., 28.651 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 8.231 secs.
FASTEST LAP: Mark Webber, 1:42.037, Lap 54
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (1:37.242)
Past Korean Grand Prix Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Sebastian Vettel (2) -- Red Bull-Renault -- 191.938 kph/1:36:28.651
2011 -- Sebastian Vettel (2) -- Red Bull-Renault -- 188.893 kph/1:38:1.994
2010 -- Fernando Alonso (3) -- Ferrari -- 109.997 kph/2:48:20.810 (rain)
Past Korean Grand Prix Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Mark Webber -- 2
2011 -- Lewis Hamilton -- 2
2010 -- Sebastian Vettel -- 17
Last Race Results
RACE: Singapore Grand Prix (Sept. 22)
SITE: Marina Bay Street Circuit -- Singapore
LAPS: 61
MILES: 191.158 (308.828 km)
WINNER: Sebastian Vettel
RUNNER-UP: Fernando Alonso
THIRD: Kimi Raikkonen
FOURTH: Nico Rosberg
FIFTH: Lewis Hamilton
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (finished 1)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 59 mins., 13.132 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 155.430 kph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 32.627 secs.
Korean Grand Prix Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1 *Sebastian Vettel (Heppenheim, Germ)Renault/Red Bull
2Mark Webber (Queanbeyan, Australia)Renault/Red Bull
3Fernando Alonso (Oviedo, Spain)Ferrari/Scuderia
4Felipe Massa (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Ferrari/Scuderia
5Jenson Button (Frome, England)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
6Sergio Perez (Guadalajara, Mexico)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
7Kimi Raikkonen (Espoo, Finland)Renault/Lotus
8Romain Grosjean (Geneva,Switzerland)Renault/Lotus
9Nico Rosberg (Wiesbaden, Germany)Mercedes/AMG Petronas
10Lewis Hamilton (Stevenage, England)Mercedes/AMG Petronas
11Nico Hulkenberg (Emmerich, Germany)Ferrari/Sauber
12Esteban Gutierrez (Monterrey, Mexico)Ferrari/Sauber
14Paul di Resta (Livingston, Scotland)Mercedes/Sahara Force India
15Adrian Sutil (Starnberg, Germany)Mercedes/Sahara Force India
16Pastor Maldonado (Maracay,Venezuela)Renault/Williams
17Valtteri Bottas (Nastola, Finland)Renault/Williams
18Jean-Eric Vergne (Pontoise, France)Ferrari/Scuderia Toro Rosso
19Daniel Ricciardo (Perth, Australia)Ferrari/Scuderia Toro Rosso
20Charles Pic (Montelimar, France)Renault/Caterham
21Giedo van der Garde (Rhenen, Nether.)Renault/Caterham
22Jules Bianchi (Nice, France)Cosworth/Marussia
23Max Chilton (Reigate, England)Cosworth/Marussia
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last three years)
Sebastian Vettel17WonWon
Mark Webber2332
Fernando AlonsoWon53
Kimi Raikkonen------4
Lewis Hamilton2210
Nico Rosberg24823
Jenson Button12424
Mover of the Week
Kimi Raikkonen - started 13 and finished 3
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Sebastian Vettel
Last Week's Pick to Win (Sebastian Vettel) - finished 1
The Korean Grand Prix at Korean International Circuit is the 14th round on the 2013 Formula One calendar.

This will be the fourth Korean GP. F1 competed in South Korea for the first time in 2010. It was the 17th race of a 19-grand prix season.

The Korea International Circuit is one of five anti-clockwise circuits on the current F1 calendar. The others are: Singapore's Marina Bay Street Circuit, Abu Dhabi's Yas Marina, Austin's Circuit of the Americas and Sao Paulo's Interlagos.

Sebastian Vettel from Red Bull has won the Korean GP the past two years. Vettel has seven victories this season, including the past three grand prix (Singapore, Italy and Belgium). He currently holds a 60-point lead in the championship standings.

Mark Webber's 11th and most recent pole came in last year's Korean GP. He finished second to his Red Bull teammate Vettel. Webber will start Sunday's race with a 10-grid penalty. He was reprimanded by the FIA race stewards in Singapore for taking a ride back on Fernando Alonso's Ferrari after failing to complete the final lap due to engine failure. It was his third reprimand of the season, resulting in the grid penalty.

Round 15 in this year's F1 world championship is the Oct. 13 Japanese Grand Prix in Suzuka, Japan. Vettel won last year's race there.

10/01 16:53:12 ET

As of October 1, 2013, at 04:53 PM ET