Scores & Stats

IndyCar Series
Verizon IndyCar Series - Iowa Corn Indy 300 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, July 12
SITE: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa
TRACK: 0.875-mile oval
CAPACITY: 30,000+ (Grandstand Seating)
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 8:50 p.m. ET (expected green flag)
QUALIFYING TIME: Friday, July 11/3 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Ryan Hunter-Reay
POLE WINNER: Helio Castroneves (finished 8)
LAPS: 300
MILES: 262.5
QUALIFYING RECORD: Takuma Sato, 2011 (180.375 mph - two-lap average)
RACE RECORD: James Hinchcliffe, 2013 (148.559 mph/1 hr., 30 mins., 16 secs.)
2013 Finish
1James Hinchcliffe26Simon Pagenaud8
2Ryan Hunter-Reay127Oriol Servia7
3Tony Kanaan58Helio Castroneves1
4Ed Carpenter49Marco Andretti3
5Graham Rahal610EJ Viso16
2013 Iowa Corn Indy 300 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 148.559 mph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 30 mins., 16.0266 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.5009 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 3 for 29 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 4 drivers
POLE WINNER: Helio Castroneves (Winner of Heat Race 3)
FASTEST LAP: Ed Carpenter, 179.055 mph, Lap 221
Past Iowa Corn Indy 300 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2013 -- James Hinchcliffe (2) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 148.559 mph
2012 -- Ryan Hunter-Reay (7) -- Dallara-Honda -- 129.371 mph
2011 -- Marco Andretti (17) -- Dallara-Honda -- 118.671 mph
2010 -- Tony Kanaan (15) -- Dallara-Honda -- 131.205 mph
2009 -- Dario Franchitti (4) -- Dallara-Honda -- 134.371 mph
2008 -- Dan Wheldon (3) -- Dallara-Honda -- 136.007 mph
2007 -- Dario Franchitti (3) -- Dallara-Honda -- 123.896 mph
NOTE: Race increased from 250 laps (218.75 miles) to 300 laps (262.5 miles) in
Past Iowa Corn Indy 300 Pole Winners (Finish)
2013 -- Helio Castroneves -- 8
2012 -- Dario Franchitti -- 25
2011 -- Takuma Sato -- 19
2010 -- Will Power -- 5
2009 -- None -- Weather
2008 -- None -- Weather
2007 -- Scott Dixon -- 10
Last Race Results
RACE: Pocono INDYCAR 500
SITE: Pocono Raceway -- Long Pond, Pennsylvania
MILES: 500
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Juan Pablo Montoya
RUNNER-UP: Helio Castroneves
THIRD: Carlos Munoz
FOURTH: Ryan Briscoe
FIFTH: Scott Dixon
POLE WINNER: Juan Pablo Montoya (finished 1)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 28 mins., 13.1798 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 2.3403 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 202.402 mph
CAUTION FLAGS: 1 for 6 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 16 among 5 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Juan Pablo Montoya - pole; Will Power 1-30; Montoya 31-32; Power
33-49; Tony Kanaan 50-58; Power 59-61; Montoya 62-64; Kanaan
65-87; Montoya 88-94; Kanaan 95-117; Montoya 118-125; Sebastien
Bourdais 126; Kanaan 127-147; Power 148-166; Montoya 167-187;
Josef Newgarden 188-194; Kanaan 195-196; Montoya 197-200.
Iowa Corn Indy 300 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
2Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/Team Penske
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Chevrolet/Team Penske
7Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia)Honda/Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
8Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France)Chevrolet/KVSH Racing
12Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Chevrolet/Team Penske
14Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises
15Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
17Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/KVAFS Racing
18Carlos Huertas (Bogota, Colombia)Honda/Dale Coyne Racing
19Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Honda/Dale Coyne Racing
20Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, IN)Chevrolet/Ed Carpenter Racing
25Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)Honda/Andretti Autosport
27 *James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada)Honda/Andretti Autosport
28Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)Honda/Andretti Autosport
34Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia)Honda/Andretti-HVM
67Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN)Honda/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)Honda/Schmidt Peterson Hamilton
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
99Jack Hawksworth (Bradford, England)Honda/BHA/BBM
* - defending champion
Leading Contenders (Finish the last seven years)
James Hinchcliffe------------917Won
Ryan Hunter-Reay---81988Won2
Tony Kanaan161814Won233
Ed Carpenter62310---1184
Graham Rahal---101191595
Simon Pagenaud---------------56
Helio Castroneves81472768
Marco Andretti231215Won29
Justin Wilson---121824121011
Charlie Kimball------------221112
Sebastien Bourdais------------------14
Josef Newgarden---------------1915
Scott Dixon104563416
Will Power---9---5212317
Sebastian Saavedra------------20---19
Takuma Sato---------19191223
Ryan Briscoe---724618---
Juan Pablo Montoya---------------------
Carlos Munoz---------------------
Carlos Huertas---------------------
Mikhail Aleshin---------------------
Jack Hawksworth---------------------
Mover of the Week
Scott Dixon - started 15 and finished 5
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Scott Dixon
Last Week's Pick to Win (Ryan Hunter-Reay) - finished 18
The Iowa Corn Indy 300 at Iowa Speedway is the 12th race on the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

Built in 2006, Iowa Speedway has progressive banking from 12-14 degrees in all of its turns. There are 10 degrees of banking on the frontstretch and four degrees on the backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 1,075 feet, and the backstretch measures 869 feet.

Andretti Autosport has won five of the seven IndyCar races at Iowa, including the last four (Tony Kanaan 2010, Marco Andretti 2011, Ryan Hunter-Reay 2012 and James Hinchcliffe 2013). Chip Ganassi Racing has two victories there (Dan Wheldon 2008 and Dario Franchitti 2009). Franchitti won the inaugural race at this track in 2007 when he drove for Michael Andretti's team (then known as Andretti Green Racing).

Team Penske has yet to win an IndyCar race at Iowa but has scored three poles at this track, most recently with Helio Castroneves in 2013.

No driver has won an IndyCar race from the pole at Iowa.

Four drivers have competed in all seven races at Iowa - Scott Dixon, Andretti, Castroneves and Kanaan.

Dixon leads all drivers with six top-10 finishes but has placed no better than third at this track.

Franchitti and Hunter-Reay are those drivers who won at Iowa and went on to capture the IndyCar championship in the same season. Franchitti accomplished the feat twice (2007 and '09), and Hunter-Reay did it in 2012.

The Iowa Corn Indy 300 will be the fourth race on an oval in 2014. There have been three different winners in as many oval races this season: Ryan Hunter- Reay (Indianapolis 500), Ed Carpenter (Texas), Juan Pablo Montoya (Pocono).

IndyCar's third and final weekend doubleheader this season takes place July 19-20 on the streets of Toronto. Race 1 of the Honda Indy Toronto is scheduled for Saturday, and Race 2 is slated for Sunday. Scott Dixon scored a weekend- sweep there last year.

07/09 10:47:30 ET

As of July 9, 2014, at 10:50 AM ET