Scores and More

MORE Sports: NFL |  NCAA Football |  NBA |  NCAA Basketball |  MLB |  MiLB |  NHL |  AHL |  Auto Racing |  Golf

NASCAR - Sprint Cup - STP 400 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, April 21
SITE: Kansas Speedway -- Kansas City, Kan.
TRACK: 1.5-mile oval
CAPACITY: 73,635 (Grandstand Seating)
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
QUALIFYING TIME: Friday, April 19/4:40 p.m. ET
DEFENDING CHAMPION: Denny Hamlin (not defending due to his injury)
RUNNER-UP: Martin Truex Jr.
POLE WINNER: A.J. Allmendinger (finished 32)
LAPS: 267
MILES: 400.5
QUALIFYING RECORD: Matt Kenseth, 2005 (180.856 mph)
RACE RECORD: Denny Hamlin, 2012 (144.122 mph)
2012 Finish
1Denny Hamlin46Kevin Harvick2
2Martin Truex Jr.67Dale Earnhardt Jr.7
3Jimmie Johnson158Kasey Kahne9
4Matt Kenseth189Carl Edwards21
5Greg Biffle1710Kyle Busch25
2012 STP 400 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 144.122 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 46 mins., 44 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.700 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 3 for 18 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 14 among 9 drivers
POLE WINNER: A.J. Allmendinger (175.993 mph)
Past STP 400 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Denny Hamlin (4) -- Toyota -- 144.122 mph
2011 -- Brad Keselowski (25) -- Dodge -- 137.184 mph
Past STP 400 Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- A.J. Allmendinger -- 32
2011 -- Kurt Busch -- 9
Last Race Results
RACE: NRA 500 (April 14)
SITE: Texas Motor Speedway -- Fort Worth, Texas
MILES: 501
LAPS: 334
WINNER: Kyle Busch
RUNNER-UP: Martin Truex Jr.
THIRD: Carl Edwards
FOURTH: Greg Biffle
FIFTH: Joey Logano
POLE WINNER: Kyle Busch (finished 1)
TIME OF RACE: 3 hrs., 27 mins., 40 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 144.751 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.508 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 36 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 18 among 7 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Ky. Busch 1-39, Ragan 40, Ky. Busch 41-42, Truex Jr 43-75, Ky.
Busch 76-82, Gilliland 83, Ky. Busch 84-131, Newman 132-134, Ky.
Busch 135-187, J. Gordon 188-200, Truex Jr 201-223, Ky. Busch
224, Truex Jr 225-279, J. Gordon 280-281, Logano 282, Truex Jr
283-288, Ky. Busch 289, Truex Jr 290-314, Ky. Busch 315-334.
STP 400 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1Jamie McMurray (Joplin, MO)Chevrolet/McDonald's
2Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI)Ford/Miller Lite
5Kasey Kahne (Enumclaw, WA)Chevrolet/Farmers Insurance
7Dave Blaney (Hartford, OH)Chevrolet/Sany
9Marcos Ambrose (Launceston, Australia)Ford/Stanley
10Danica Patrick (Roscoe, IL)Chevrolet/
11Brian Vickers (Thomasville, NC)Toyota/FedEx Freight
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Ford/SKF
13Casey Mears (Bakersfield, CA)Ford/GEICO
14Tony Stewart (Columbus, IN)Chevrolet/Bass Pro Shops/Mobil 1
15Clint Bowyer (Emporia, KS)Toyota/5-Hour Energy
16Greg Biffle (Vancouver, WA)Ford/Ace Brand
17Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (Olive Branch, MS)Ford/Zest
18Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/M&M's
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/Plinker Tactical
20Matt Kenseth (Cambridge, WI)Toyota/Home Depot
22Joey Logano (Middletown, CT)Ford/AAA
24Jeff Gordon (Vallejo, CA)Chevrolet/Drive to End Hunger
27Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI)Chevrolet/Menards/Pitt. Paints
29Kevin Harvick (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/Bad Boy Buggies
30David Stremme (South Bend, IN)Toyota/Swan Racing
31Jeff Burton (South Boston, VA)Chevrolet/TBA
32Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD)Ford/Oxy Water
33Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA)Chevrolet/Little Joe's Autos
34David Ragan (Unadilla, GA)Ford/TBA
35Josh Wise (Riverside, CA)Ford/MDS Transport
36J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ)Chevrolet/Accell Construction
38David Gilliland (Riverside, CA)Ford/Long John Silver's
39Ryan Newman (South Bend, IN)Chevrolet/Code 3 Associates
42Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/Target
43Aric Almirola (Tampa, FL)Ford/STP
44Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC)Ford/JPO Absorbents
47Bobby Labonte (Corpus Christi, TX)Toyota/Pine Sol
48Jimmie Johnson (El Cajon, CA)Chevrolet/Lowe's/Kobalt Tools
51Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/Phoenix Construction
55Mark Martin (Batesville, AR)Toyota/Aaron's Dream Machine
56Martin Truex Jr. (Mayetta, NJ)Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts
78Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/Furniture Row
81Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Toyota/Alert Energy Gum
83David Reutimann (Zephyrhills, FL)Toyota/Burger King/Dr. Pepper
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/Maddie's Place
88Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Kannapolis, NC)Chevrolet/National Guard
93Travis Kvapil (Janesville, WI)Toyota/Burger King/Dr. Pepper
98Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ)Ford/Phil Parsons Racing
99Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO)Ford/Aflac
Leading Contenders (Finish the last two years)
Martin Truex Jr202
Jimmie Johnson73
Matt Kenseth64
Greg Biffle105
Kevin Harvick116
Dale Earnhardt Jr27
Kasey Kahne148
Carl Edwards59
Kyle Busch1210
Brad KeselowskiWon11
Tony Stewart813
Joey Logano2315
Kurt Busch917
Paul Menard1918
Ryan Newman1520
Jeff Gordon421
Mark Martin2133
Clint Bowyer1836
Mover of the Week
Greg Biffle - started 35 and finished 4
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Kyle Busch
Last Week's Pick to Win (Brad Keselowski) - finished 9
The STP 400 at Kansas Speedway is the eighth race on the 2013 Sprint Cup Series schedule.

Construction of Kansas Speedway began in 1999. The first races at this 1.5- mile racetrack -- ARCA Series and NASCAR K&N Pro Series West events -- were held on the same day on June 2, 2001.

During the 2012 NASCAR season, between the April and October race weekends, this track was repaved and variable banking was added in the turns. The banking in all four corners varies from 17-20 degrees. There is 10 degrees of banking on the frontstretch and 5 degrees on the backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 2,685 feet, and the backstretch is 2,207 feet long.

There have been 14 Sprint Cup races held at Kansas, including one event per season from 2001-2010 and two each year since then. The series will return there the first weekend in October for the fourth race in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship.

Jeff Gordon won the inaugural Sprint Cup race at Kansas on Sept. 30, 2001.

Gordon, Greg Biffle, Jimmie Johnson and Tony Stewart lead all drivers with two victories each at Kansas. Gordon has the most top-five finishes at this track with 8, and Johnson's 11 top-10 finishes there is tops among all drivers.

Johnson and Kasey Kahne have the most poles at Kansas with three each.

The race winner at Kansas has started from the pole position two times: Joe Nemechek (2004) and Johnson (2008).

The closest margin of victory in a Sprint Cup race at Kansas occurred in October 2004 when Nemechek beat Ricky Rudd to the finish line by 0.081 seconds.

Nine drivers have competed in all 14 races at Kansas: Jeff Burton, Kurt Busch, Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth, Bobby Labonte, Mark Martin, Ryan Newman and Stewart.

Denny Hamlin and Austin Dillon are those active drivers who made their first career Sprint Cup starts at Kansas. Hamlin made his debut on Oct. 9, 2005 at this track, while Dillon's first start came on Oct. 9, 2011.

Hamlin, who won at Kansas one year ago, is not competing this weekend, as he continues to recover from a compression fracture in his lower back due to an accident at Auto Club Speedway last month.

No active driver has scored his or her first Cup race win or pole at Kansas.

Newman holds the record as the youngest driver to win a race at Kansas. He took the checkered flag there on Oct. 5, 2003 when he was 25 years, 9 months and 27 days old. When Mark Martin was 46 years and 9 months old, he became the oldest driver to win at this track on Oct. 9, 2005.

The next event is the April 27 Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond International Raceway. Kyle Busch is the defending race winner.

04/16 14:49:22 ET

As of April 16, 2013, at 02:49 PM ET