Football Bowl Subdivision

Tennessee State, Tennessee Tech share Sgt. York Trophy

Cookeville, TN (Sports Network) - Tennessee Tech claimed a share of the 2011 Sgt. York Trophy with Tennessee State by beating Austin Peay, 49-7, on Saturday.

Tennessee State and Tennessee Tech were each 2-1 in Sgt. York competition this season. The trophy goes to the winner of the quadrangular season football series between the four Ohio Valley Conference schools in Tennessee - Austin Peay, Tennessee State, Tennessee Tech and UT Martin.

Although the teams were co-champions, Tennessee State will take home the actual trophy because the tiebreaker gives it to the institution that has gone the most seasons without winning the trophy. Tennessee State had last won in 2008, while Tennessee Tech won the trophy in 2009.

11/19 21:46:40 ET