College Baseball

South Carolina gets back to super regionals

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - South Carolina is a step closer to playing for its third straight College World Series title.

The Gamecocks held off Clemson, 4-3, Sunday to capture the Columbia Regional with a 3-0 record and pick up their NCAA-record 19th straight postseason win.

Clemson scored in the ninth to trim its deficit, but stranded the tying run on first base, making South Carolina the first of what will be 16 teams to make the super regionals.

The Gamecocks made it out of the region with a 7-0 win over Manhattan Friday, a 5-4 victory over Clemson in 12 innings on Saturday and another win over its in-state rival Sunday.

They beat UCLA in 2010 and Florida last year for the first two CWS titles in school history.

Also making the super regionals with 3-0 records Sunday were Florida, Florida State, Arkansas, St. John's, Oregon, Kent State, LSU Stanford, UCLA and Arizona.

The No. 1 Gators routed Georgia Tech, 15-3, to win the Gainesville Regional at and the Seminoles made it through the Tallahassee Regional with a perfect record after topping Samford, 5-2.

Florida State is in the field for the 35th straight year, while Samford was making its first appearance.

Arkansas beat Sam Houston State, 5-1, in the Houston Regional and St. John's won the Chapel Hill Regional after knocking off North Carolina, 9-5.

Oregon and Kent State will face each other in the super regionals. Oregon beat Austin Peay, 8-1, to win the Eugene Regional and Kent State edged Kentucky, 3-2, to go undefeated in the Gary Regional.

Stanford will play Florida State after beating Pepperdine, 8-7, to win its own regional and LSU topped Oregon State in 10 innings to capture the Baton Rouge Regional.

UCLA made it out of the Los Angeles Regional, dispatching Creighton, 13-5, while Arizona pounded Louisville, 16-3, to advance past the Tucson Regional.

Each of the 16 teams making it through the 64-team field will play a best-of- three super regional. The remaining eight teams make the College World Series, which starts June 15 in Omaha, Nebraska.

06/04 02:26:16 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.