IndyCar Series

IZOD IndyCar Series - Honda Indy Toronto Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, July 10th
SITE: Streets of Toronto -- Toronto, Ontario, Canada
TRACK: 1.721-mile, 11-turn temporary street course
ANNOUNCERS: Bob Jenkins, Jon Beekhuis, Wally Dallenbach
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS Satellite
START TIME: 2:50 p.m. (et)
RUNNER-UP: Dario Franchitti
POLE WINNER: Justin Wilson (Finished 7th)
LAPS: 85
MILES: 146.285
QUALIFYING RECORD: Justin Wilson, 2010 (104.827 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Dario Franchitti, 2009 (86.240 m.p.h.)
2010 Finish
1Will Power26Danica Patrick12
2Dario Franchitti57Justin Wilson1
3Ryan Hunter-Reay48Marco Andretti10
4Tony Kanaan89Simona de Silvestro21
5Graham Rahal1410Dan Wheldon15
2010 Honda Indy Toronto Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 83.451 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 47 minutes, 15.2554 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.2757 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 6 for 21 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 6 among 5 drivers
POLE WINNER: Justin Wilson (104.827 m.p.h.)
FASTEST LAP: Will Power, 102.910 m.p.h., Lap 41
Past Honda Indy Toronto Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2010 -- Will Power (2nd) -- Dallara-Honda -- 83.451 m.p.h.
2009 -- Dario Franchitti (1st) -- Dallara-Honda -- 86.240 m.p.h.
Past Honda Indy Toronto Pole Winners (Finish)
2010 -- Justin Wilson -- 7th
2009 -- Dario Franchitti -- 1st
Last Race Results
RACE: Iowa Corn Indy 250 (July 4th)
SITE: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa
MILES: 218.751
LAPS: 250
WINNER: Marco Andretti
RUNNER-UP: Tony Kanaan
THIRD: Scott Dixon
FOURTH: J.R. Hildebrand
FIFTH: Dario Franchitti
POLE WINNER: Takuma Sato (Finished 19th)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 53 minutes, 0.1074 second
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.7932 second
AVERAGE SPEED: 118.671 m.p.h.
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 72 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 9 among 5 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Takuma Sato 1-7; Dario Franchitti 8-156; Marco Andretti 157-160;
Franchitti 161-183; J.R. Hildebrand 184-187; Andretti 188-202;
Tony Kanaan 203-207; Andretti 208-211; Kanaan 212-231; Andretti
Honda Indy Toronto Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
2Oriol Servia (Pals, Spain)Telemundo/Newman-Haas Racing
06James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada)Sprott/Newman-Haas Racing
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brz)Itaipava/Team Penske
4J.R. Hildebrand (Sausalito, CA)U.S. National Guard/Panther Racing
5Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)KV Racing Technology-Lotus
6Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)Penske Logistics/Team Penske
7Danica Patrick (Roscoe, IL) Autosport
8Paul Tracy (Scarborough, Canada)Ralphs/Motegi Wheels/Dragon Racing
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Dario Franchitti (Scotland)Kellogg's/Chip Ganassi Racing
12 *Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Verizon/Team Penske
14Vitor Meira (Brasilia, Brazil)ABC Supply Co./AJ Foyt Enterprises
18Jamie Jakes (Leeds, England)Acorn Stairlifts/Dale Coyne Racing
19Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans,France)Boy Scouts of America/Dale Coyne Rac
22Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)HP/Dreyer&ReinboldRacing
24Ana Beatriz (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Ipiranga/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
26Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)Venom Energy/Andretti Autosport
27Mike Conway (Bromley, England)Window World/Andretti Autosport
28Ryan Hunter-Reay (Boca Raton, FL)DHL/Sun Drop/Andretti Autosport
34Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota,Colombia)Conquest Racing
38Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Service Central/Chip Ganassi Racing
59E.J. Viso (Caracas, Venezuela)PDVSA/KV Racing Technology-Lotus
77Alex Tagliani (Lachenaie, Canada)Bowers & Wilkins/Sam Schmidt Motor.
78Simona de Silvestro (Switzerland)Nuclear Clean Air Energy/HVM Racing
82Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)GEICO/KV Racing Technology-Lotus
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)Novo Nordisk/Chip Ganassi Racing
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last two years)
Will Power3rdWon
Dario FranchittiWon2nd
Ryan Hunter-Reay7th3rd
Tony Kanaan17th4th
Graham Rahal20th5th
Danica Patrick6th6th
Justin Wilson5th7th
Marco Andretti8th8th
Paul Tracy19th13th
Alex Tagliani9th17th
Ryan Briscoe2nd18th
Scott Dixon4th20th
Helio Castroneves18th24th
Mike Conway22nd---
Mover of the Week
Scott Dixon - Started 23rd on the grid and finished 3rd
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Dario Franchitti
Darkhorse - Alex Tagliani
Last Week's Pick to Win (Ryan Briscoe) - Finished 6th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Danica Patrick) - Finished 10th
Currently second on the points list, Will Power is back to defend his title in Toronto this week. Power claimed his fourth of five 2010 wins last year, as he held off Dario Franchitti by 1.28 seconds.

Franchitti led 22 laps during the mid-stages of the race, but Franchitti handed the top position to Power when he pitted during a round of green-flag stops on lap 55. Power and then second-place runner Justin Wilson made their stops on the following lap. Wilson took the lead when he beat Power out of the pits and then entered the track ahead of Franchitti. Power passed Wilson for the lead just after a restart with 14 laps remaining and held on the rest of the way for his fifth career IndyCar title. His three wins this year in nine starts give him nine career victories. Wilson, who started on the pole, placed seventh despite leading a race-high 32 laps.

In the inaugural race on the Streets of Toronto, Franchitti recovered from a pit road mishap and then capitalized on a series of late-race crashes to win the Honda Indy Toronto. Franchitti experienced a problem with his left-rear tire during his first stop and fell back in the field. He benefited on his next trip to pit road when he entered just before a caution came for an incident involving Graham Rahal. The Chip Ganassi Racing driver moved around Helio Castroneves with 21 laps to go and then held it for his third victory of the season and the 11th of his IndyCar Series career.

Franchitti, the 2007, 2009-10 series champion, started on the pole in 2009 and led the most laps with 45. He easily held off Ryan Briscoe at the finish by 1.6745 seconds. Franchitti, the current points leader, also won at Toronto in a 1999 CART/Champ Car event.

The last time racing took place in Toronto was for the Champ Car Series back in 2007, as Will Power finished ahead of Neel Jani to capture the checkered flag. Power finished seventh in his other Toronto start.

The Champ Car Series had raced in Toronto since 1986, when Bobby Rahal captured the first of 22 events. Michael Andretti owned the streets of Toronto, winning the race seven times. Paul Tracy and Al Unser Jr were two-time champions. Tracy had 11 top-10 finishes in his 16 races in Toronto.

The IZOD IndyCar Series remains in Canada for the July 24th running of the Edmonton Indy at Edmonton City Centre Airport. Scott Dixon is the defending race winner.

07/05 13:35:28 ET

As of July 5, 2011, at 01:35 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.