NASCAR Camping World Truck Series
NASCAR - Camping World Truck - Mudsummer Classic Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Wednesday, July 24
SITE: Eldora Speedway -- Rossburg, Ohio
TRACK: 0.5-mile high-banked clay oval
CAPACITY: 17,782 plus grass hillsides
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 9:35 p.m. ET
QUALIFYING TIME: Qualifying, 5 p.m. ET/Qualifying Races, 7 p.m. ET
LAPS: 150 (segment 1 - 60/segment 2 - 50/segment 3 - 40)
Last Race Results
RACE: American Ethanol 200 (July 13)
SITE: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa
MILES: 175
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Timothy Peters
RUNNER-UP: Erik Jones
THIRD: James Buescher
FOURTH: Ron Hornaday Jr.
FIFTH: Chase Elliott
POLE WINNER: German Quiroga Jr. (finished 14)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 38 mins., 46 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 106.311 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.225 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 26 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 6 among 5 drivers
LAP LEADERS: G. Quiroga Jr 1-56; R. Sieg 57-57; T. Dillon 58-114; T. Peters
115-126; J. Buescher 127-165; T. Dillon 166-173; T. Peters
Mudsummer Classic Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
3Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/Bass Pro Shops
4Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA)Chevrolet/Arrowhead
5To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/Applebee's
6Jared Landers (Batesville, AR)Chevrolet/Mark Martin Automotive
07Jimmy Weller III (Hubbard, OH)Chevrolet/TBA
7John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA)Toyota/Zaxby's
8Max Gresham ((Griffin, GA)Chevrolet/Made in the USA
9Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA)Chevrolet/Smokey Mountain Herbal
10Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS)RAM/
13Tracy Hines (New Castle, IN)Toyota/ThorSport Racing
17 *Timothy Peters (Providence, NC)Toyota/Parts Plus
18Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Toyota/Darrell Gwynn Foundation
19Dave Blaney (Hartford, OH)Ford/Reese Towpower
24Brennan Newberry (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/Qore-24
29Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC)Ford/Cooper Standard
30Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA)Chevrolet/Clorox
31James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/Rheem
32Miguel Paludo (Nova Prata, Brazil)Chevrolet/Accudoc Solutions
34Ryan Newman (South Bend, IN)Chevrolet/Oral B-Aggressive Design
39Austin Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
44J.R. Heffner (Stephentown, NY)Chevrolet/A. Colarusso & Son Inc.
51Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
52Ken Schrader (Fenton, MO)Toyota/Federated Auto Parts
54Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL)Toyota/Camping World/Good Sam
57Norm Benning (Level Green, PA)Chevrolet/TBA
60Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Chevrolet/Winfield
62Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/South Point
63Justin Jennings (LaGrange, MO)Chevrolet/TBA
68Clay Greenfield (Clarksville, TN)RAM/TBA
77German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico)Toyota/Otter Box
81Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Toyota/Grime Boss/GunBroker
84Jeff Babcock (Wayne, OH)Chevrolet/
88Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Toyota/Menards/Ideal Door
93Chris Jones (Forest, VA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
98Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI)Toyota/Carolina Nut/Curb Records
99Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL)Chevrolet/Rockingham Speedway
Mover of the Week
Darrell Wallace Jr. - started 21 and finished 8
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Ryan Blaney
Last Week's Pick to Win (Matt Crafton) - finished 6
The inaugural Mudsummer Classic at Eldora Speedway is the 10th race on the 2013 Camping World Truck Series schedule.

Eldora Speedway is a half-mile dirt racing facility in Rossburg, Ohio, which is roughly 120 miles northeast of Indianapolis Motor Speedway, where the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series will compete this coming weekend.

Three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Tony Stewart is the owner of Eldora Speedway. Stewart purchased the track from the previous owner, Earl Baltes, in 2004. Baltes built Eldora in 1954 and had been the sole proprietor of the facility since it opened.

The track has 24 degrees of banking in all of its turns and 8 degrees of banking on the straights.

Eldora has hosted some of the largest dirt racing events in the country, including the Prelude to the Dream, Dirt Late Model Dream, Kings Royal and World 100.

The Camping World Truck Series race at Eldora will be the first time a NASCAR national touring series is contested on dirt since Sept. 30, 1970. Richard Petty won the Home State 200 at the one-mile State Fairgrounds Speedway in Raleigh, N.C.

Qualifying and race procedures for Eldora will be different than any other event in Truck Series history. Dirt tracks have historically used a format much different than the typical races on asphalt/concrete tracks. This event will feature a traditional two-lap qualifying session, five qualifying races, one last-chance race and a champion's provisional to determine the 30-truck starting field. The top-20 in owners' points entering the race event will have a guaranteed starting position.

Two-lap qualifying determines the starting positions for the qualifying races. Each of the five qualifying races include 8 laps, with only green-flag laps counting. Five drivers transfer to the main event from each qualifying race.

The lineup for the qualifying races will be based on qualifying speeds with four locked-in drivers. The top-five drivers in qualifying will start on the pole for their respective qualifying race. Also, the highest-finishing non- locked-in driver will transfer to the main event from each qualifying race.

After the completion of the 5 qualifying races, 25 drivers will have earned their starting positions for the main event.

A last-chance race features 15 laps, with only green-flag laps counting. The top-four finishers in this race will transfer to the main event and start in positions 26-29.

The 30th starting spot will go to the most recent past series' champion who has not already qualified. If the 30th starting position is not filled by an eligible champion, it will be assigned to the next highest-finishing driver in the last chance race.

The length/distance for the main event (Mudsummer Classic) consists of 150 laps (75 miles) divided into 3 segments. The segments will be 60, 50 and 40 laps. There will be pit stops between each segment, with teams having the opportunity to change tires and work on their trucks.

The next Camping World Truck Series race is the Aug. 3 Pocono Mountains 125 at Pocono Raceway. Joey Coulter won last year's event there.

07/22 14:52:48 ET

As of July 22, 2013, at 02:52 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.