International Soccer
             === Barca, Real dominate FIFA FIFPro XI shortlist ===
 Zurich, Switzerland (Sports Network) - Barcelona led all clubs with 11 players
 and Real Madrid had 10 as the Spanish sides dominated the 55-man shortlist for
 the FIFA FIFPro XI released Thursday.
 Barcelona's Lionel Messi, the  reigning two-time world player of the year, and
 Real's Cristiano Ronaldo, the 2008 player of the year, highlighted the list of
 players vying for a spot on the world all-star team.
 Although Messi (Argentina) and Ronaldo (Portugal) weren't among the players on
 the team from Spain, the 2008 European and 2010 World Cup champions featured a
 country-best 12 players, highlighted by 2010 FIFA Ballon d'Or finalists Andres
 Iniesta and Xavi, who finished second and third, respectively, behind Messi.
 The FIFA FIFPro World XI will be announced Jan. 9.
 Following is the complete FIFA FIFPro World XI (with country, club):
 Goalkeepers:  Gianluigi  Buffon (Italy,  Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain, Real
 Madrid),   Manuel  Neuer  (Germany,  Bayern  Munich),  Victor  Valdes  (Spain,
 Barcelona),  Edwin  van der  Sar  (Netherlands,  retired, formerly  Manchester
 Defenders:  Eric  Abidal (France,  Barcelona), Dani Alves (Brazil, Barcelona),
 Ricardo  Carvalho (Portugal,  Real  Madrid), Ashley  Cole (England,  Chelsea),
 Patrice  Evra  (France, Manchester United), Rio Ferdinand (England, Manchester
 United),  Vincent  Kompany (Belgium,  Manchester City), Philipp Lahm (Germany,
 Bayern  Munich),  Lucio (Brazil,  Inter Milan),  David Luiz (Brazil, Chelsea),
 Maicon  (Brazil,  Inter  Milan),  Marcelo (Brazil,  Real  Madrid),  Alessandro
 Nesta  (Italy,  AC Milan), Pepe  (Portugal, Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Spain,
 Barcelona),  Carles  Puyol  (Spain,  Barcelona),  Sergio  Ramos  (Spain,  Real
 Madrid),  Thiago Silva  (Brazil,  AC Milan),  John  Terry (England,  Chelsea),
 Nemanja Vidic (Serbia, Manchester United).
 Midfielders: Xabi Alonso (Spain, Real Madrid), Gareth Bale (Wales, Tottenham),
 Sergio  Busquets  (Spain, Barcelona), Cesc Fabregas (Spain, Barcelona), Andres
 Iniesta   (Spain,  Barcelona),  Kaka  (Brazil,  Real  Madrid),  Frank  Lampard
 (England,  Chelsea),  Nani (Portugal, Manchester United), Mesut Ozil (Germany,
 Real Madrid), Andrea Pirlo (Italy, Juventus), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany,
 Bayern   Munich),  David  Silva  (Spain,  Manchester  City),  Wesley  Sneijder
 (Netherlands,  Inter Milan), Yaya Toure (Cote d'Ivoire, Manchester City), Xavi
 (Spain, Barcelona).
 Forwards:  Lionel  Messi (Argentina,  Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal,
 Real  Madrid), Wayne  Rooney (England, Manchester United), David Villa (Spain,
 Barcelona),   Samuel   Eto'o  (Cameroon,  Anzhi),  Sergio  Aguero  (Argentina,
 Manchester  City),  Neymar (Brazil,  Santos),  Didier  Drogba (Cote  d'Ivoire,
 Chelsea),  Zlatan  Ibrahimovic  (Sweden,  AC  Milan),  Luis  Suarez  (Uruguay,
 Liverpool),   Radamel  Falcao  (Colombia,  Atletico  Madrid),  Edinson  Cavani
 (Uruguay,  Napoli), Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid), Mario Gomez (Germany,
 Bayern Munich), Robin van Persie (Netherlands, Arsenal).
 12/01 13:50:33 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.