International Soccer
            === Barcelona, Santos learn draw for Club World Cup ===
 Nagoya, Japan (Sports  Network) - Barcelona will open its 2011 FIFA Club World
 Cup against the winner of a quarterfinal series between Esperance and Al-Sadd,
 it was announced Thursday when the draw for the event was held.
 Spain's  Barcelona and  Brazil's Santos received byes to the semifinals of the
 tournament, which  runs from Dec. 8-18. Santos will play its semifinal on Dec.
 14, while four-time European champion Barca plays on Dec. 15.
 The championship game is Dec. 18.
 Santos will likely play Mexican side Monterrey in the other semifinal, but the
 North  American representative  will need to win a quarterfinal against either
 the  2011 J.  League winner - Kashiwa  Reysol, Gamba Osaka or Nagoya Grampus -
 or Auckland City from Australia.
 Kashiwa  Reysol, Gamba Osaka and Nagoya Grampus are all within three points at
 the  top of the J. League with three games remaining in the season. The winner
 plays Auckland on Dec. 8 to open the tournament.
 Esperance is the African representative and Al-Sadd is the Asian qualifier.
 11/17 13:14:35 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.