I-A College Football
    === Arizona, Tampa Bay to host next two National Championship games ===
 Irving,  TX (SportsNetwork.com)  -  Bill Hancock,  executive  director of  the
 College  Football Playoff,  announced Monday that Arizona was selected to host
 the  2016 National Championship Game, while Tampa Bay was selected to host the
 2017 title tilt.
 The  2016 game  will be  played at  the University  of Phoenix  Stadium, where
 the Arizona Cardinals play their home games, on Jan. 11, 2016. The Orange Bowl
 and  the  Cotton Bowl will  host the  College Football Playoff semifinals that
 The  2017 game will  be in Tampa Bay at Raymond James Stadium, the Buccaneers'
 home  field, on  Jan. 9, 2017. The  Chick-fil-A Bowl and Fiesta Bowl will host
 the semifinals that year.
 "It  was a difficult decision for the management committee, because there were
 many  good  options, but Arizona and  Tampa Bay were selected because of their
 top-notch  facilities and  because  of the  thorough  proposals their  leaders
 submitted,"  Hancock said.  "We were  impressed by  all the  bids and  we know
 communities' interest will only increase in the coming years."
 The  College  Football Playoff will  begin with  the 2014-2015 season and will
 feature  the four  top  teams  as selected  by  the  College Football  Playoff
 Selection Committee.
 The  Rose  Bowl and the Sugar  Bowl will host the initial national semifinals,
 while  the first  National Championship Game of the playoff era will be played
 at AT&T Stadium, the home of the Dallas Cowboys, on Jan. 12, 2015.
 12/16 16:59:26 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.