I-A College Football
               === Pitt's Donald cleans up at awards ceremony ===
 Lake  Buena  Vista, FL  (SportsNetwork.com) - The  conference titles have been
 fought for and won. The bowl matchups are set.
 On Thursday night, college football's best were honored individually during an
 awards  ceremony at  Disney World,  and Pittsburgh's Aaron Donald was  the big
 The senior defensive tackle took home the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation's
 top  defensive player  and the  Outland Trophy  as the  nation's top  interior
 lineman,  in addition to already having the Lombardi Award and Nagurski Trophy
 under his belt.
 Alabama  quarterback  A.J. McCarron surprisingly  took home the Maxwell Award,
 which  signifies the  nation's top all-around player. The senior signal-caller
 beat  out last  year's Heisman Trophy winner, Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M, and
 this year's favorite, Jameis Winston of Florida State.
 Winston  did,  however, capture  the Davey  O'Brien Award  as the nation's top
 quarterback  as well  as  the  Walter Camp  Award,  which  honors the  college
 football  player of  the  year  as voted  by  coaches  and sports  information
 Also on Thursday, Oregon State's Brandin Cooks won the Biletnikoff Award (wide
 receiver), Boston College's Andre Williams was  given  the Doak  Walker  Award
 (running  back),  Michigan State's  Darqueze Dennard was  the recipient of the
 Jim  Thorpe  Award (defensive  back), Florida  State's Roberto Aguayo captured
 the  Lou Groza Award (place-kicker) and Memphis' Tom Hornsey took away the Ray
 Guy Award winner (punter).
 12/12 21:15:17 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.