I-A College Football
                === Winston, Manziel among Heisman finalists ===
 New  York, NY  (SportsNetwork.com) - Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston,
 the  redshirt freshman phenom who led the Seminoles to the No. 1 ranking and a
 berth  in  the BCS National Championship  Game, was named Monday as one of six
 finalists for the Heisman Trophy.
 The  other  finalists for  college  football's  biggest individual  award  are
 Northern  Illinois  quarterback Jordan Lynch, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron,
 Auburn  running back Tre Mason, Boston College running back Andre Williams and
 2012 winner Johnny Manziel, the Texas A&M quarterback.
 The winner will be announced during a ceremony in New York on Saturday.
 A  prosecutor announced last week that Winston wouldn't be charged in a sexual
 assault case stemming from events in December 2012, clearing him to finish the
 He  passed  for 3,820 yards and  38 touchdowns, both FBS freshman records, and
 led  the unbeaten Seminoles  (13-0) to a win over Duke in the ACC Championship
 Game Saturday.
 Florida  State climbed to  No. 1 in the BCS standings for the first time in 14
 years and will play No. 2 Auburn for the national title on Jan. 6.
 Quarterbacks  Charlie Ward  in 1993 and Chris  Weinke in 2000 are the only FSU
 players to win the Heisman.
 No  Northern  Illinois player has  ever won  the Heisman. Lynch's Huskies were
 undefeated  before losing Friday's MAC Championship against Bowling Green, and
 the  senior's  performance was  seen as  a less-than-ideal  final chapter to a
 Heisman  campaign  despite 219  yards passing  with a  touchdown and 126 yards
 rushing with two more scores.
 Lynch  rushed  for 1,881 yards,  breaking his  own FBS quarterback record, and
 passed for 2,676 while accounting for 45 total touchdowns.
 "I  have  never been  around someone who  has 64 percent  completion rate as a
 passer  and  has the  rushing records that  would be great  for just a running
 back,"  said Northern Illinois head coach Ron Carey of Lynch. "He can do both.
 He's a special, special athlete and we were sure fortunate to get to coach him
 and have him on this team at the time we did."
 Last  year,  Manziel became the first  freshman to capture the Heisman after a
 star-making  season  in which  he set  the SEC record  for total offense. This
 season  he  combined  for  4,418  yards passing  and  rushing  with  41  total
 Former  Ohio State running back Archie Griffin remains the only player ever to
 win  two Heismans,  doing it in back-to-back seasons in 1974-75. Manziel's win
 last year was the second for a Texas A&M player.
 Mason, the SEC Offensive Player of the Year, was probably a longshot candidate
 before his performance in Saturday's conference title game. The junior running
 back rushed for 304 yards and four touchdowns as the Tigers routed Missouri to
 lock up their BCS Championship Game berth.
 After  striking  the Heisman  pose several  times during  the game, Mason said
 winning the award has been a personal goal.
 "It  was  always a dream,  you know, growing up,  wanting to win the Heisman,"
 said  Mason, the  son of a founding  member of the seminal hip-hop group De La
 Soul. "I'm sure every kid that played football, that's one of their dreams."
 Mason ran  for 1,621  yards and 22 touchdowns for Auburn (12-1), including 164
 yards  and  a score  in the  team's Iron  Bowl win  over Alabama. Three Auburn
 players  have won the  Heisman, including Bo Jackson in 1985 and Cam Newton in
 McCarron, who won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, has been a part of three
 national  championship  teams and owns a  career record of 36-3 for Alabama. A
 steady  leader,  he passed for  2,676 yards and 26  touchdowns as a senior and
 would be only the second Crimson Tide player to win the award.
 Williams  had five  200-yard rushing games and led the nation with 2,102 yards
 on  329  carries. He left the  team's final regular-season game with an injury
 after  gaining just  29 yards, but is  expected to be OK for the AdvoCare V100
 Bowl against Arizona on New Year's Eve.
 Doug Flutie was Boston College's only Heisman winner in 1984.
 12/09 22:09:30 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.