Current-Argus  ·  Weather  ·  Jobs  ·  Cars  ·  Shopping  ·  Classifieds
IndyCar Series
IZOD IndyCar Series - GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, Aug. 25
SITE: Sonoma Raceway -- Sonoma, Calif.
TRACK: 2.385-mile, 12-turn road course
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 4:30 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Will Power
POLE WINNER: Will Power (finished 2)
LAPS: 85
MILES: 202.73
QUALIFYING RECORD: Will Power, 2012 (111.116 mph)
RACE RECORD: Helio Castroneves, 2008 (100.254 mph)
2012 Finish
1Ryan Briscoe26Helio Castroneves4
2Will Power17Simon Pagenaud9
3Dario Franchitti68J.R. Hildebrand15
4Rubens Barrichello119Alex Tagliani8
5Graham Rahal1310Tony Kanaan16
2012 GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 95.740 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 7 mins., 2.8248 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.4408 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 2 for 11 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 6 among 3 drivers
POLE WINNER: Will Power (111.116 mph)
FASTEST LAP: Ryan Hunter-Reay, 108.430 mph, Lap 82
Past GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Ryan Briscoe (2) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 95.740 mph
2011 -- Will Power (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 96.408 mph
2010 -- Will Power (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 92.063 mph
2009 -- Dario Franchitti (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 94.745 mph
2008 -- Helio Castroneves (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 100.254 mph
2007 -- Scott Dixon (5) -- Dallara-Honda -- 98.593 mph
2006 -- Marco Andretti (2) -- Dallara-Honda -- 93.486 mph
2005 -- Tony Kanaan (3) -- Dallara-Honda -- 91.040 mph
NOTE: Formerly called Argent Mortgage Indy Grand Prix (2005), Indy Grand Prix
of Sonoma (2006), Motorola Indy 300 (2007), PEAK Antifreeze & Motor Oil
Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma County (2008).
Past GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Will Power -- 2
2011 -- Will Power -- 1
2010 -- Will Power -- 1
2009 -- Dario Franchitti -- 1
2008 -- Helio Castroneves -- 1
2007 -- Dario Franchitti -- 3
2006 -- Scott Dixon -- 4
2005 -- Ryan Briscoe -- 19
Last Race Results
RACE: Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio (Aug. 4)
SITE: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course -- Lexington, Ohio
MILES: 203.22
LAPS: 85
WINNER: Charlie Kimball
RUNNER-UP: Simon Pagenaud
THIRD: Dario Franchitti
FOURTH: Will Power
FIFTH: Ryan Hunter-Reay
POLE WINNER: Ryan Hunter-Reay (finished 5)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 43 mins., 29.1371 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 5.5334 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 117.825 mph
LEAD CHANGES: 5 among 3 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Ryan Hunter-Reay 1-30; Charlie Kimball 31-41; Simon Pagenaud
42-47; Kimball 48-64; Pagenaud 65-72; Kimball 73-90.
GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)DHL/Andretti Autosport
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Hitachi/Team Penske
4 *Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)National Guard/Panther Racing
5E.J. Viso (Caracas, Venezuela)Venezuela/Andretti Autosport/HVM
6Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)Dragon Racing
7Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France)Dragon Racing
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Dario Franchitti (Edinburgh,Scotland)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)Hydroxycut/KV Racing Technology
12Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Verizon/Team Penske
14Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)ABC Supply/A.J. Foyt Racing
15Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Midas/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
16James Jakes (Leeds, England)Acorn Stairlifts/RLL Racing
18James Davidson (Melbourne, Australia)Dale Coyne Racing
19Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Dale Coyne Racing
20Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, IN)Fuzzy's Vodka/Ed Carpenter Racing
25Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)RC Cola/Andretti Autosport
27James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Autosport
55Tristan Vautier (Corenc, France)Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
67Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN)Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)Schmidt-Hamilton HP Motorsports
78Simona de Silvestro (Thun, Switzer.)Nuclear Entergy Areva/KVRT
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)NovoLog FlexPen/Chip Ganassi Racing
97Lucas Luhr (Koblenz, Germany)RW Motorsports/SFHR
98J.R. Hildebrand (Sausalito, CA)Barracuda Racing/Bryan Herta Autospt
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish last eight years)
Ryan Briscoe1916---2243Won
Will Power---------25---WonWon2
Dario Franchitti823---Won343
Graham Rahal---------821985
Helio Castroneves2152Won18526
Simon Pagenaud------------------157
Tony KanaanWon1143872810
Justin Wilson---------976---11
Scott Dixon74Won12132513
Ryan Hunter-Reay------18181981018
Charlie Kimball------------------2621
Marco Andretti---Won161414122425
James Hinchcliffe------------------726
Takuma Sato---------------181827
Mover of the Week
Helio Castroneves - started 14 and finished 6
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Scott Dixon
Last Week's Pick to Win (Scott Dixon) - finished 7
The GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma at Sonoma Raceway is the 15th race on the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series schedule.

Located about 30 miles north of San Francisco, Sonoma Raceway opened as a 2.52-mile road course and drag strip in 1968. This course has been re- configured numerous times. It is 2.385 miles in length for IndyCar events. This track was formerly called Sears Point Raceway (1981-2001) and Infineon Raceway (2002-12).

IndyCar has been competing at Sonoma once each year since 2005. Tony Kanaan won the inaugural race that year.

Will Power from Team Penske is the only driver with multiple victories at Sonoma. Power won back-to-back races there from 2010-11. He also has the most poles at this course with three (2010, '11 and '12).

Team Penske has the most victories at Sonoma with four. Ryan Briscoe won last year's race there in his final season with Penske. Helio Castroneves gave the team its first win at this course in 2008.

Dario Franchitti led all 75 laps en route to victory in the 2009 race, but Briscoe challenged him for the top spot in the closing laps. Franchitti beat Briscoe to the finish line by just 0.2488 seconds, which is the closest margin of victory in an IndyCar event at Sonoma.

Scott Dixon won the 2007 race at Sonoma from the fifth starting position, which is the furthest back in the field a driver has started and won there.

Marco Andretti's first career win in IndyCar came in the 2006 Sonoma race.

The next race is the Sept. 1 Baltimore Grand Prix on the streets of Baltimore. Ryan Hunter-Reay is the defending race winner.

08/21 00:13:30 ET

As of August 21, 2013, at 12:13 AM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

Carlsbad Current Argus - Sports Plus


Jobs: Cars: Shopping:
Copyright ?? 2005 Carlsbad Current Argus, a MediaNews Group Newspaper.
Use of this site signifies that you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.