Current-Argus  ·  Weather  ·  Jobs  ·  Cars  ·  Shopping  ·  Classifieds
FBS College Football
           === Williams, Crouch headline College 2014 HOF ballot ===
 Irving, TX ( - Former Heisman Trophy winners Ricky Williams,
 Eric Crouch and Rashaan Salaam were among 75 Football Bowl Subdivision players
 eligible  for  induction into the  2014 class of  the College Football Hall of
 Williams,  the 1998 Heisman recipient and a two-time unanimous First Team All-
 American  at  the University of  Texas, ranks second  on the FBS all-time list
 with  6,279  rushing yards and  third in  rushing touchdowns (72). The onetime
 Miami  Dolphins  star set 46  school records during  his four seasons with the
 Crouch  captured  the 2001 Heisman  as a  senior quarterback at Nebraska after
 leading  the Cornhuskers to the national title game that season. He still owns
 the  NCAA  record for rushing  touchdowns by a quarterback  (59) and is one of
 only three signal-callers in FBS history to throw for 4,000 yards and rush for
 3,000 in a career.
 Salaam  took home the 1994 Heisman as a junior at Colorado, leading the nation
 with  a school-record  2,055 rushing  yards while  scoring 24  touchdowns that
 Several  members  of the  Pro Football  Hall of  Fame were  also listed on the
 initial  ballot, including Eric Dickerson (SMU), Willie Roaf (Louisiana Tech),
 Warren Sapp (Miami-Florida) and Derrick Thomas (Alabama). Former NFL stars Ray
 Lewis  (Miami-Florida) and  LaDainian Tomlinson  (TCU) are  also eligible  for
 election,  as  is current Arizona Diamondbacks  manager Kirk Gibson -- an All-
 American wide receiver at Michigan State in 1978.
 This  year's ballot  also  contains  six ex-FBS  coaches:  Mike Bellotti,  Jim
 Carlon, Pete Cawthon, Sr., Danny Ford, Billy Jack Murphy and Darryl Rogers.
 The  2014  College Football Hall  of Fame class will  be revealed in May, with
 induction ceremonies to take place in New York City on Dec. 9.
 Players  must have been  named a First Team All American by a major outlet and
 have  at least  10 years since their  final collegiate game to be eligible for
 selection. Additionally, they must have played within the last 50 years and be
 retired from professional football.
 Coaches  with at least 10 years and 100 games of experience can be included on
 the  ballot provided they won at least 60 percent of their games and have been
 retired  for a minimum of three years, though active coaches over 75 years old
 are  immediately  eligible and there is  no waiting period for retired coaches
 over 70.
 03/06 17:51:42 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

Carlsbad Current Argus - Sports Plus


Jobs: Cars: Shopping:
Copyright ?? 2005 Carlsbad Current Argus, a MediaNews Group Newspaper.
Use of this site signifies that you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.