LPGA - Honda LPGA Thailand Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, February 21st through Sunday, February 24th
SITE: Siam Country Club (Pattaya Old Course), Chonburi, Thailand
COURSE ARCHITECT: I. Izumi (1971), Lee Schmidt (2007)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,477
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 375 yds10 - Par 4 387 yds
2 - Par 5 537 yds11 - Par 5 500 yds
3 - Par 3 164 yds12 - Par 3 178 yds
4 - Par 4 382 yds13 - Par 5 520 yds
5 - Par 4 287 yds14 - Par 4 396 yds
6 - Par 5 515 yds15 - Par 4 354 yds
7 - Par 4 382 yds16 - Par 3 172 yds
8 - Par 3 145 yds17 - Par 4 423 yds
9 - Par 4 400 yds18 - Par 4 360 yds
36 3,187 yds36 3,290 yds
Annual:  7th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 9 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday -- 2-6 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Sunday -- 1:30-6 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Yani Tseng
Runner-Up:  Ai Miyazato
Tournament Record:  267 (Suzann Pettersen, 2007; Ai Miyazato, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  196 (Suzann Pettersen, 2007)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Suzann Pettersen, 2010)
18-Hole Record:  63 (Suzann Pettersen, 2007; Stacy Prammanasudh, 2009;
  Ai Miyazato, 2010; I.K. Kim, 2011)
Total Purse:  $1,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $225,000; 2nd Place - $136,988; 3rd Place - $99,375
2012 Finish
Yani Tseng269Shanshan Feng278
Ai Miyazato270Stacy Lewis278
Jiyai Shin271Amanda Blumenherst278
Amy Yang274Karrie Webb279
Jimin Kang278Jenny Shin279
Past Honda LPGA Thailand Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Yani Tseng (269) -- Ai Miyazato
2011Yani Tseng (273) -- Michelle Wie
2010Ai Miyazato (267) -- Suzann Pettersen
2009Lorena Ochoa (274) -- Hee Young Park
2008Tournament Not Held
2007Suzann Pettersen (267) -- Laura Davies
2006Hee-Won Han (202) -- Diana D'Alessio

Top Contenders in the Field
Yani TsengT-73rdWonWon
Ai MiyazatoT-22WonT-292nd
Jiyai ShinT-13T-22T-353rd
Stacy Lewis---T-22T-18T-5
Shanshan FengT-22---T-38T-5
Karrie WebbT-19T-4T-3T-9
Hee Young Park2ndT-11T-5711th
Cristie KerrT-19T-4T-18T-14
Anna Nordqvist---31stT-26T-18
Angela StanfordT-7T-16T-29T-18
Suzann PettersenT-422ndT-8T-21
Mika Miyazato6thT-38T-13T-21
Brittany Lincicome---T-26T-18T-21
Na Yeon ChoiT-13T-13T-15T-25
Se Ri PakT-53T-32T-35T-25
K. Hull-KirkT-40T-32T-18T-33
Michelle Wie---T-222ndT-38
Inbee ParkT-46T-47T-43T-41
Hee Kyung Seo---------T-41
I.K. KimT-42T-11T-3T-44
Paula Creamer3rdwd5thT-49
Morgan PresselT-22T-26T-38T-49
Brittany LangT-4T-32T-46T-49
Beatriz Recari------T-15T-57
So Yeon Ryu------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Yani Tseng
Darkhorse - Beatriz Recari
Last Week's Pick to Win (So Yeon Ryu) - Finished tied for 55th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Brittany Lincicome) - Finished tied for 18th
The 2013 LPGA Tour season continues this week with the first of two straight events in Asia. This is the seventh installment of the Honda LPGA Thailand. An outstanding field is on hand, as the top 14 players in the world are expected to play, led by world No. 1 and two-time defending champion Yani Tseng, and 15-year-old amateur sensation Lydia Ko.

Tseng finished second last week at the season-opening Handa Women's Australian Open. Ko finished third in that event after winning the New Zealand Women's Open the week before on the Ladies European Tour to become the youngest winner in Ladies European Tour history. Jiyai Shin won last week and jumped to No. 6 in the world. American and world No. 3 Stacy Lewis, the 2012 LPGA Tour Player of the Year, finished tied for 15th last week. The field this week is comprised of 70 players -- 60 LPGA Tour players and 10 sponsor invites.

Last year, Tseng birdied the final two holes to fend off Ai Miyazato and win by one stroke. Tseng fired rounds of 73-65-65-66 to repeat as champion. She finished at 19-under-par 269 to pick up her 13th LPGA Tour title.

In 2011, Tseng shot a 6-under 66 in the final round to win. Tseng, who won the previous two weeks on the Ladies European Tour to claim the top spot in the world for the first time, finished at 15-under par 207 and ended with a convincing 5-stroke win over Michelle Wie at Siam Country Club.

In 2010, Miyazato erased a 6-shot deficit in the final round with a course- record tying 9-under 63 to come from behind and win by one over Suzann Pettersen. Miyazato finished at 21-under-par 267 to match Pettersen's tournament scoring record. Pettersen set the mark when she won in 2007.

Pettersen drained a 15-foot eagle putt on the 72nd hole in 2007 to defeat Laura Davies by one stroke and win this tournament for her fifth LPGA Tour victory in 2007. Davies missed her 25-foot eagle attempt on the same hole and settled for birdie to end one shot back. Pettersen fired a course-record 63 in the third round to jump in front by seven strokes. She settled for a 71 in the final round to hang on for the win.

Amateur Ariya Jutanugarn qualified for this event in 2007, becoming the youngest player to qualify for an LPGA event. She was 11 years, 11 months and 2 days old at the start of the tournament. Wie held the previous mark when she qualified for the 2002 LPGA Takefuji Classic at 12 years, 4 months and 14 days old. Jutanugarn finished in a tie for 48th after rounds of 75-74-74. Ariya will also play this year, along with her sister Moriya.

In 2006, Hee-Won Han posted her third consecutive round in the 60s in the final round to run away with this event, her sixth career victory and second win of 2006. Han shot a 5-under 67 in the final round, completing the first-ever LPGA tournament in Thailand at 14-under-par 202 for a 5-shot victory over Diana D'Alessio.

The LPGA Tour concludes its two-week stay in Asia next week with the HSBC Women's Champions in Singapore, where Angela Stanford won last season.

02/19 15:19:01 ET

As of February 19, 2013, at 03:19 PM ET