Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - SAS Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, September 30th through Sunday, October 2nd
SITE: Prestonwood Country Club (Meadows and Highlands courses), Cary, NC
COURSE ARCHITECT: Tom Jackson (Meadows - 1988); (Highlands - 1993),
         Rick Robbins (2009, renovation)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,212
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 411 Yds10 - Par 4 428 Yds
2 - Par 4 418 Yds11 - Par 3 193 Yds
3 - Par 3 207 Yds12 - Par 5 577 Yds
4 - Par 4 420 Yds13 - Par 4 434 Yds
5 - Par 4 425 Yds14 - Par 4 410 Yds
6 - Par 4 420 Yds15 - Par 4 431 Yds
7 - Par 5 551 Yds16 - Par 4 412 Yds
8 - Par 3 168 Yds17 - Par 5 503 Yds
9 - Par 4 387 Yds18 - Par 4 417 Yds
35 3,407 Yds37 3,805 Yds
Annual:  11th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday/Sunday -- 7:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Russ Cochran
Runner-Up:  Tom Pernice, Jr.
Tournament Record:  198 (Mark Wiebe, 2007)
36-Hole Record:  131 (Mark Wiebe, 2007; Russ Cochran, 2010)
Course Record:  61 (Tom Kite, 2003)
Total Purse:  $2,100,000
Shares:  1st Place - $315,000; 2nd Place - $184,800; 3rd Place - $151,200
2010 Finish
Russ Cochran202Bernhard Langer207
Tom Pernice, Jr.204Ted Schulz207
John Cook206Keith Fergus208
Mark Calcavecchia207Bob Gilder208
Bobby Clampett207Nick Price208
Past SAS Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2010Russ Cochran (202) -- Tom Pernice, Jr.
2009Tom Pernice, Jr. (203) -- David Frost, Nick Price
2008Eduardo Romero (201) -- Tom Kite
2007Mark Wiebe (198) -- Dana Quigley
2006#Tom Jenkins (134) -- Chip Beck, Loren Roberts
2005Hale Irwin (203) -- Bob Gilder, Tom Jenkins
2004Craig Stadler (199) -- Tom Jenkins
2003D.A. Weibring (203) -- Tom Kite, Bobby Wadkins
2002Bruce Lietzke (202) -- Gil Morgan, Sammy Rachels, Tom Watson
2001Bruce Lietzke (201) -- Allen Doyle, Gary McCord

Top Contenders in the Field
Russ Cochran------------------------T-5Won
Tom Pernice Jr------------------------Won2nd
John Cook---------------------T-7T-363rd
Bernhard Langer------------------T-11T-45---T-4
Mark Calcavecchia---------------------------T-4
Nick Price------------------T-36T-15T-2T-8
Keith Fergus---------T-28T-67T-34T-3T-39T-9T-8
Bob GilderT-10T-40T-48T-51T-2T-12T-47T-17T-29T-8
Peter Senior---------------------------T-11
Dan Forsman---------------------T-634thT-11
Chip Beck---------------T-2T-67T-23T-27T-16
Eduardo Romero---------------T-19---WonT-43T-16
Fred Couples---------------------------T-16
Morris Hatalsky---T-40T-48T-39---------T-10T-43T-20
David Frost------------------------T-2T-24
Wayne Levi---T-6T-4T-8T-12T-34T-32T-33T-23T-24
Tom KiteT-22---T-2T-14T-12T-34T-202ndT-23T-29
Jay Don Blake---------------------------T-29
Andy Bean------T-8T-18T-18T-6wdT-3T-5T-37
Olin Browne------------------------T-5T-37
Jeff Sluman------------------T-20T-15T-50T-37
Mark Wiebe------------------WonT-17T-9T-50
Tom Purtzer---5thT-39---T-55T-19T-15T-39T-14T-50
D.A. Weibring------WonT-8wdT-27T-11T-10T-9T-57
Hale IrwinT-6T-15T-21---WonT-47T-59T-45T-59T-57
Tom JenkinsT-38T-11T-42ndT-2WonT-15T-52T-14T-60
Tom Lehman------------------------T-18---
Craig Stadler------T-8Won4thT-47------T-53---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Mark Calcavecchia
Darkhorse - Kenny Perry
Last Week's Pick to Win (Jeff Sluman) - Finished tied for 11th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Chip Beck) - Finished tied for 32nd
Just four official events remain in the quest for the Charles Schwab Cup and top billing on the Champions Tour. Tom Lehman leads Mark Calcavecchia by 451 points in the race for the $1 million prize for the Cup. Lehman leads the money list by $239,413 over John Cook. Lehman and Cook, who have both won three times this season, are the only players with multiple victories in 2011.

Last year, Russ Cochran carded rounds of 64-67-71 and led wire-to-wire to capture his second victory in as many starts. Cochran won the Posco E&C Songdo Championship in South Korea two weeks prior for his first Champions Tour victory. He finished this tournament at 14-under 202 and won by two over 2009 champion Tom Pernice, Jr.

In 2009, Pernice rolled in a 30-foot birdie putt on the 18th hole in the final round to win his Champions Tour debut. Pernice fired rounds of 67-67-69 to win the title at 13-under 203. He became the 15th player in Champions Tour history to win his first tournament.

In 2008, Eduardo Romero closed with a six-under 66 for a comfortable three- shot win over Tom Kite, his third victory of 2008. The Argentine finished 54 holes at 15-under-par 201 for his fourth career Champions Tour title.

Mark Wiebe completed a historic debut in 2007 on the Champions Tour by shooting rounds of 65-66-67 to win by three shots over Dana Quigley. Wiebe became the first player in three years to win his first start on the Champions Tour. He was the first player to win his debut while playing on a sponsor's exemption. Wiebe turned 50 just 10 days prior to the event.

Tom Jenkins was declared the winner in 2006 after wet conditions forced the cancellation of the final round. Jenkins finished the tournament at 10-under-par 134 for a one-shot victory over Loren Roberts and Chip Beck. The win was Jenkins' seventh on the Champions Tour. Jenkins pocketed $300,000 for the largest paycheck of his career.

In 2004, Craig Stadler fired a six-under 66 in the final round to cruise to a six-shot victory. Stadler finished at 17-under-par 199 for his fifth victory of the 2004 season. His six-stroke victory was the largest ever at this event. With his victory, Stadler became the first player to win three consecutive starts on the Champions Tour since Gil Morgan in 1997.

D.A. Weibring captured this tournament despite flu-like symptoms, using a cart for most of the final round due to his weakened condition. He came from five back to edge out Kite and Bobby Wadkins by one shot in 2003.

Next week, the Champions Tour travels to Texas for the Insperity Championship, where Fred Couples is the defending champion.

09/27 14:13:01 ET

As of September 27, 2011, at 02:13 PM ET