Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - 3M Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, August 5th through Sunday, August 7th
SITE: TPC Twin Cities, Blaine, Minnesota
COURSE ARCHITECT: Arnold Palmer (2000), Tom Lehman (Consultant)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,114
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 426 Yds10 - Par 4 379 Yds
2 - Par 4 388 Yds11 - Par 4 402 Yds
3 - Par 5 546 Yds12 - Par 5 593 Yds
4 - Par 3 177 Yds13 - Par 3 209 Yds
5 - Par 4 418 Yds14 - Par 4 423 Yds
6 - Par 5 571 Yds15 - Par 4 451 Yds
7 - Par 4 318 Yds16 - Par 4 387 Yds
8 - Par 3 204 Yds17 - Par 3 184 Yds
9 - Par 4 456 Yds18 - Par 5 582 Yds
36 3,504 Yds36 3,610 Yds
Annual:  19th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 12-1:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 4-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  David Frost
Runner-Up:  Mark Calcavecchia
Tournament Record:  191 (David Frost, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  128 (R.W. Eaks, 2008)
Course Record:  61 (David Frost, 2010)
Total Purse:  $1,750,000
Shares:  1st Place - $262,500; 2nd Place - $154,000; 3rd Place - $126,000
2010 Finish
David Frost191Kirk Hanefeld200
Mark Calcavecchia198Jeff Sluman200
Tommy Armour III199Olin Browne201
David Peoples199John Cook201
Nick Price199Three players at202
Past 3M Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2010David Frost (191) -- Mark Calcavecchia
2009Bernhard Langer (200) -- Andy Bean
2008R.W. Eaks (193) -- Gary Hallberg, Bernhard Langer
2007D.A. Weibring (198) -- Jay Haas
2006David Edwards (204) -- Brad Bryant, Craig Stadler
2005Tom Purtzer (201) -- Lonnie Nielsen, Craig Stadler
2004Tom Kite (203) -- Craig Stadler
2003Wayne Levi (205) -- Morris Hatalsky, Gil Morgan
2002Hale Irwin (204) -- Hubert Green
2001Bruce Lietzke (207) -- Doug Tewell
2000Ed Dougherty (197) -- Hale Irwin, Gil Morgan
1999Hale Irwin (201) -- Jim Dent, Dale Douglass
1998*#Leonard Thompson (134) -- Isao Aoki
1997Hale Irwin (199) -- Lee Trevino
1996Vicente Fernandez (205) -- Bruce Crampton, J.C. Snead
1995Raymond Floyd (201) -- Graham Marsh
1994Dave Stockton (203) -- Jim Albus
1993Chi Chi Rodriguez (201) -- Jim Colbert, Bob Murphy

* - Won in Playoff

# - Rain Shortened

Note:Formerly called Burnet Senior Classic (1993-97), Coldwell Banker
Burnet Classic (1998-2000).

Top Contenders in the Field
David Frost---------------------------Won
Mark Calcavecchia---------------------------2nd
Nick Price------------------------T-5T-3
Tommy Armour III---------------------------T-3
David Peoples---------------------------T-3
Jeff Sluman---------------------T-9T-16T-6
John Cook---------------------T-30T-13T-8
Olin Browne------------------------T-34T-8
Mark O'Meara------------------------T-7T-10
Michael Allen---------------------------T-10
Mike Goodes------------------T-40T-6T-22T-13
Gil MorganT-3wdT-2T-13T-5T-4T-16T-24T-34T-13
Keith Fergus------------T-25T-16T-26T-24T-31T-18
Russ Cochran---------------------------T-18
Bernhard Langer---------------------T-2WonT-25
Dan Forsman------------------------T-7T-25
Bruce FleisherT-3T-7T-40T-44T-25T-2665thT-39T-16T-28
Jay Haas------------------2nd---T-13T-34
Dana QuigleyT-14T-58T-10T-13T-12T-55T-57T-9T-16T-34
Morris Hatalsky------T-2T-13T-8T-26T-40T-15T-22T-34
Larry Mize------------------------T-7T-43
Tom Purtzer------T-10T-3WonT-6T-30T-24T-54T-45
D.A. Weibring------T-10---T-8T-6WonT-13---T-45
Joey Sindelar---------------------T-15T-42T-50
Hale IrwinT-3WonT-40T-22T-25T-10T-4712thT-51T-50
Wayne Levi---T-22WonT-22T-25T-10T-47T-62T-54T-50
Bruce LietzkeWonT-28T-16T-6T-8T-20T-16---T-42T-58
Tom KiteT-10T-28T-22WonT-5T-4T-62T-64thT-61
Tom WatsonT-10---------------T-11---------
Fred Couples------------------------------
John Huston------------------------------
Tom Lehman------------------------------
Corey Pavin------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Russ Cochran
Darkhorse - Corey Pavin
Last Week's Pick to Win (Mark Calcavecchia) - Finished 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (David Eger) - Finished tied for 29th
NOTES:The Champions Tour visits Minnesota this week for the 3M Championship
at the TPC Twin Cities. The top-seven players on the money list will be teeing it up, led by money leader Tom Lehman, who has won three times this season. Lehman was born in Minnesota and was a consultant to Arnold Palmer for the TPC Twin Cities. Fred Couples will make his return to the Champions Tour this week after sitting out since the Regions Tradition in May due to back problems.

Last year, David Frost eagled the last hole for an 11-under 61 in the final round and his first Champions Tour victory. Frost finished at 25-under 191, which matched the Champions Tour record for lowest all-time 54-hole score and lowest score in relation to par. Frost won by seven shots over Mark Calcavecchia for the largest margin of victory in tournament history.

In 2009, Bernhard Langer eagled the 18th hole in the final round to win by a shot, picking up his fourth victory of the season. Langer, the two-time Masters champion who has found tremendous success on the Champions Tour, finished three rounds at 16-under 200. He chipped in from 20 feet at the 18th hole, building a two-shot lead that withstood Andy Bean's birdie at No. 18 in the final group. Langer became the first player on the Champions Tour to win an event with an eagle on the final hole since Loren Roberts at the 2006 Turtle Bay Championship.

In 2006, David Edwards closed with a five-under 67 in the final round to win by two strokes. Edwards completed his first Champions Tour win at 12-under-par 204. Edwards, who was a Champions Tour rookie in 2006, won an official event for the first time since the last of his four PGA Tour wins at the 1993 Heritage Golf Classic.

Raymond Floyd is the only player to claim a PGA Tour and a Champions Tour event in the Twin Cities area. Floyd won the 1995 3M Championship (then called Burnet Senior Classic) 30 years after winning the second of his 22 PGA Tour titles at the 1965 St. Paul Open at Keller Golf Club. Bunker Hills Golf Club hosted this event from 1993-2000, however, the TPC Twin Cities took over as the host venue in 2001.

When Bruce Lietzke won in 2001, it came just 24 days after he turned 50 and made him the youngest winner in event history. There has been only one playoff, coming in 1998, when Leonard Thompson defeated Isao Aoki in a rain- shortened tournament.

The Champions Tour travels to New York in two weeks for the fifth and final major championship of the year, the Constellation Energy Senior Players Championship at Westchester Country Club, where Mark O'Meara will defend his title.

08/02 11:43:38 ET

As of August 2, 2011, at 11:43 AM ET