Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - Dick's Sporting Goods Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, June 24th through Sunday, June 26th
SITE: En-Joie Golf Course, Endicott, New York
COURSE ARCHITECT: Ernie Smith (1927), Dr. Michael Hurdzan (1996)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,974
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 367 Yds10 - Par 4 356 Yds
2 - Par 4 379 Yds11 - Par 4 441 Yds
3 - Par 5 554 Yds12 - Par 5 545 Yds
4 - Par 3 175 Yds13 - Par 4 442 Yds
5 - Par 5 565 Yds14 - Par 3 212 Yds
6 - Par 4 433 Yds15 - Par 4 432 Yds
7 - Par 3 188 Yds16 - Par 4 321 Yds
8 - Par 5 553 Yds17 - Par 3 185 Yds
9 - Par 4 407 Yds18 - Par 4 419 Yds
37 3,621 Yds35 3,353 Yds
Annual:  5th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 7:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Loren Roberts
Runner-Up:  Fred Funk
Tournament Record:  195 (Lonnie Nielsen, 2009)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Fred Funk, 2009)
Course Record:  62 (R.W. Eaks, 2007)
Total Purse:  $1,750,000
Shares:  1st Place - $262,500; 2nd Place - $154,000; 3rd Place - $126,000
2010 Finish
Loren Roberts201Brad Bryant204
Fred Funk202Mark Calcavecchia204
Dan Forsman203Bill Glasson204
Wayne Levi203James Mason205
Nick Price203David Frost206
Past Dick's Sporting Goods Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2010Loren Roberts (201) -- Fred Funk
2009Lonnie Nielsen (195) -- Ronnie Black, Fred Funk
2008Eduardo Romero (199) -- Fulton Allem, Gary Koch
2007R.W. Eaks (199) -- Bruce Vaughan

Top Contenders in the Field
Loren Roberts---------Won
Fred Funk------T-22nd
Dan Forsman------T-5T-3
Nick Price------T-10T-3
Wayne LeviT-52T-20T-33T-3
Brad Bryant---T-204thT-6
James Mason---T-61T-659th
David Frost---------10th
Mark Wiebe---T-10T-36T-11
Joe Ozaki---T-5T-44T-11
Ronnie Black------T-2T-14
Andy BeanT-4T-20T-22T-22
Lonnie Nielsen3rdT-26WonT-30
Jay Haas------T-5T-30
John Cook---------T-36
Craig StadlerT-9T-26wdT-42
David Eger26thT-46T-50---
Tom Lehman------------
Tom Watson------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Nick Price
Darkhorse - Mike Goodes
Last Week's Pick to Win (Mark Calcavecchia) - Finished tied for 15th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Peter Senior) - Finished tied for 29th
The Champions Tour travels to New York this week for the Dick's Sporting Goods Open in Endicott. The top-17 players on the money list are in the field this week, led by money leader and three-time winner Tom Lehman. John Cook, who has two wins, and Lehman are the only multiple winners in 2011. Fred Funk, who missed the cut at the U.S. Open last week, has finished second here the past two years. The purse increased $50,000 from last year to $1,750,000, with the winner receiving $262,500.

Last year, Loren Roberts birdied the 18th hole in the final round to shoot a seven-under 65 and win by one shot over Funk. Roberts holed a chip shot from in front of the No. 12 green for an eagle that started a back-nine charge ending with a seven-foot birdie putt at the last hole. He finished three rounds on the En-Joie course with a 15-under 201 for his 12th career Champions Tour win.

In 2009, Lonnie Nielsen fired a nine-under 63 in the final round to come from behind and win. Nielsen established a new tournament scoring record with a 21-under 195 for a three-shot win over Ronnie Black and Funk. The victory was Nielsen's second on the Champions Tour and both have come in New York, where he has a residence. He captured the 2007 Commerce Bank Championship.

Argentina's Eduardo Romero carded rounds of 65-65-69 in 2008 to pick up his second Champions Tour title. Romero completed the event at 18-under-par 199 for a one-stroke win over Fulton Allem and Gary Koch. With the win, Romero became the first international winner at this golf course since 1997, when Gabriel Hjertstedt captured the B.C. Open.

In 2007, R.W. Eaks fired weekend rounds of 62-66 to cruise to a three-stroke win over Bruce Vaughan at the inaugural event. Eaks closed his first Champions Tour win at 17-under-par 199.

This tournament is being played in Endicott, New York at En-Joie Golf Course, designed by Ernie Smith in 1927. En-Joie hosted the B.C. Open on the PGA Tour from 1971 to 2005. Past winners of that event include Gil Morgan, Tom Kite, Don Pooley, Jay Haas, Wayne Levi, Fred Couples, John Daly, Hal Sutton, Funk, Brad Faxon, Jeff Sluman and Craig Stadler.

En-Joie was the first corporate-built golf course in the country. It was built for the Endicott Johnson workers in 1927-28 and opened in 1929. Endicott- Johnson was a large shoe manufacturer in the Endicott area. En-Joie was completely redesigned due to flooding that has occurred over the years. The course was built in an apple orchard. However, currently no apple trees remain on the course. The bunkers, greens and tees were redesigned in 1996 by Michael Hurdzan and is a level course that is tree-lined, with water hazards in play on 10 holes. Most of the greens are slightly sloped, but some of them are very undulating.

In four years, only one ace has been made in tournament history. That honor belongs to Eaks, who made a hole-in-one on the seventh hole during the second round in 2007. Eaks went on to win the event.

The Champions Tour heads to Canada next week for the Montreal Championship in Quebec, where Larry Mize is the defending champion.

06/21 17:16:58 ET

As of June 21, 2011, at 05:17 PM ET