Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - Ensure Classic at Rock Barn Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, October 1st through Sunday, October 3rd
SITE: Rock Barn Golf Club & Spa (Jones Course), Conover, North Carolina
COURSE ARCHITECT: Robert Trent Jones Jr (2002)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,090
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 436 Yds10 - Par 4 431 Yds
2 - Par 4 476 Yds11 - Par 4 451 Yds
3 - Par 3 187 Yds12 - Par 4 375 Yds
4 - Par 5 568 Yds13 - Par 4 433 Yds
5 - Par 4 415 Yds14 - Par 5 573 Yds
6 - Par 4 451 Yds15 - Par 3 150 Yds
7 - Par 5 507 Yds16 - Par 4 389 Yds
8 - Par 4 335 Yds17 - Par 3 190 Yds
9 - Par 3 197 Yds18 - Par 5 526 Yds
36 3,572 Yds36 3,518 Yds
Annual:  8th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday/Sunday -- 2-4 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Jay Haas
Runner-Up:  Russ Cochran, Andy Bean, Hal Sutton
Tournament Record:  198 (Jay Haas, 2009)
36-Hole Record:  129 (R.W. Eaks, Tom Jenkins, 2008)
Course Record:  61 (R.W. Eaks, 2008)
Total Purse:  $1,750,000
Shares:  1st Place - $262,500; 2nd Place - $154,000; 3rd Place - $126,000
2009 Finish
Jay Haas198Mark McNulty203
Andy Bean200Jeff Sluman203
Russ Cochran200Bob Tway203
Nick Price201David Frost205
Hal Sutton201Gene Jones205
Larry Nelson205
Past Ensure Classic at Rock Barn Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2009Jay Haas (198) -- Andy Bean
2008R.W. Eaks (200) -- Tom Jenkins, Tom Kite
2007R.W. Eaks (199) -- Jay Haas, Rod Spittle
2006*Andy Bean (201) -- R.W. Eaks
2005Jay Haas (200) -- Dana Quigley
2004Doug Tewell (202) -- Bruce Fleisher
2003Craig Stadler (201) -- Larry Nelson

* - Won in Playoff

NOTE:Formerly called Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn (2003-09).

Top Contenders in the Field
Jay Haas------WonT-10T-2T-10Won
Andy BeanT-55T-25T-45WonT-31T-25T-2
Russ Cochran------------------T-2
Nick Price------------T-7T-25T-4
Hal Sutton------------------T-4
Bob Tway------------------T-6
Gene Jones---------------T-10T-9
Larry Nelson2ndT-7T-559thT-57T-18T-9
David Frost------------------T-9
Tom Jenkins4thT-14T-59T-39T-31T-2T-12
Fred Funk------------T-25T-10T-12
Dan Forsman---------------T-13T-12
Mark Wiebe---------------T-420th
Brad Bryant------T-11T-10T-15T-18T-21
Bobby WadkinsT-38T-5T-30wdT-48T-64T-21
Tom KiteT-7------T-13T-48T-2T-31
D.A. WeibringT-16T-17------T-15T-25T-31
Bob GilderT-7---T-26T-13T-31T-7T-36
Chip Beck---------3rdT-48T-41T-36
Keith Fergus---T-17T-21T-32T-7T-23T-46
Tom PurtzerT-38------T-5T-25T-53T-46
Fred Couples---------------------
Bernhard Langer---------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Russ Cochran
Darkhorse - Tom Jenkins
Last Week's Pick to Win (Fred Couples) - Finished tied for 16th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Mark Calcavecchia) - Finished tied for 4th
Only five events remain on the Champions Tour schedule, as players vie for coveted off-season awards, including Player of the Year honors. Heading the list for the POY award is Bernhard Langer, who leads the money list by $317,280 over Fred Couples. Langer has captured five titles this year, including the Senior British Open and U.S. Senior Open. Couples has won three times in his rookie season. Langer leads Couples by 672 points in the race for the Charles Schwab Cup. Both players are in the field this week. The purse increased $50,000 from last year to $1.75 million, with the winner receiving $262,500.

Last year, Jay Haas birdied five of his last six holes and fired a seven-under 65 in the final round to win this event for the second time. Haas' late rally gave him a two-shot victory over Andy Bean and Russ Cochran -- his first win of the season and the 13th of his Champions Tour career. He also won this event in 2005. Haas' total of 198 last year broke the tournament record set by R.W. Eaks in 2007 (199). Haas fired rounds of 62-71-65 and held at least a share of the lead after every round.

In 2008, Eaks fired a course-record 61 in the first round and went on to successfully defend his title. He finished at 16-under 200 and won the title by four shots over Tom Kite and Tom Jenkins.

Eaks fired rounds of 63-66-70 to hold off a charge by Haas to win in 2007. Eaks went wire-to-wire for the win, squeezing three rounds of golf into just two days after the first round was rained out on Friday. He finished at 17-under 199 for a two-shot win over Haas.

In 2006, Andy Bean birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Eaks and earn his first Champions Tour victory. Bean, who went wire-to-wire for the victory, withstood a late charge from Eaks, who birdied six of his last seven holes in regulation and forced Bean to birdie the last to force the sudden-death playoff. The victory was Bean's first professional win since the 1987 Kapalua International on the PGA Tour.

Haas picked up his maiden Champions Tour title in 2005 with a two-stroke victory. Haas fired a seven-under 65 in the final round to end the tournament at 16-under-par 200, two strokes better than second-round leader Dana Quigley, who shot a 70 in his final round. It was Haas' first victory since the 1993 H.E.B. Texas Open on the PGA Tour.

Haas and Eaks have dominated this event the past several seasons winning four of the past five years. Only Andy Bean's win in 2006 spoiled the streak.

The Champions Tour travels to Maryland next week for the final major championship of the golf season, the Constellation Energy Senior Players Championship. Haas will defend his title at TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm.

09/28 14:13:47 ET

As of September 28, 2010, at 02:13 PM ET