Champions Golf Tour
PGA, CHAMPIONS, LPGA - Wendy's Three-Tour Challenge Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Tuesday, November 10th
SITE: Rio Secco Golf Club, Henderson, Nevada
COURSE ARCHITECT: Rees Jones (1997)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,332
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 429 Yds10 - Par 4 378 Yds
2 - Par 4 489 Yds11 - Par 4 478 Yds
3 - Par 3 180 Yds12 - Par 3 215 Yds
4 - Par 4 396 Yds13 - Par 4 329 Yds
5 - Par 5 595 Yds14 - Par 4 432 Yds
6 - Par 4 409 Yds15 - Par 3 189 Yds
7 - Par 3 208 Yds16 - Par 4 417 Yds
8 - Par 5 566 Yds17 - Par 5 516 Yds
9 - Par 4 472 Yds18 - Par 5 634 Yds
36 3,744 Yds36 3,588 Yds
Annual:  18th
Television:  ABC - Saturday, December 19/Sunday, December 20 - 4-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Champions Tour
Runner-Up:  PGA, LPGA
Tournament Records:  63.5 (Champions Tour, 1999)
  $500,000 (PGA Tour, 2006)
Total Purse:  $1,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $500,000; 2nd Place - $300,000; 3rd Place - $200,000
2008 Finish
Nick Price65Cristie Kerr67
Kenny Perry66Fred Funk68
Jay Haas66Rocco Mediate69
Stewart Cink67Helen Alfredsson78
Natalie Gulbis67
Past Wendy's Three-Tour Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008Champions Tour (Fred Funk, Jay Haas, Nick Price), PGA, LPGA
2007*LPGA Tour (C.Kerr, Morgan Pressel, Natalie Gulbis), Champions, PGA
2006PGA Tour (Scott Verplank, Stewart Cink, Zach Johnson) -- Champions, LPGA
2005Champions Tour (Hale Irwin, Jay Haas, Craig Stadler) -- PGA, LPGA
2004LPGA Tour (Cristie Kerr, Juli Inkster, Grace Park) -- Champions, PGA
2003PGA Tour (Mark Calcavecchia, Peter Jacobsen, J.Daly) -- LPGA, Champions
2002PGA Tour (Rich Beem, Jim Furyk, John Daly) -- Champions, LPGA
2001*LPGA Tour (Dottie Pepper, Annika Sorenstam, Karrie Webb) -- SENIOR, PGA
2000PGA Tour (Notah Begay III, Rocco Mediate, P.Mickelson) -- SENIOR, LPGA
1999SENIOR Tour (Hale Irwin, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Watson) -- PGA, LPGA
1998SENIOR Tour (Hale Irwin, Gil Morgan, Larry Nelson) -- PGA, LPGA
1997PGA Tour (Fred Couples, Tom Lehman, Phil Mickelson) -- LPGA, SENIOR
1996PGA Tour (Fred Couples, Davis Love III, Payne Stewart) -- SENIOR, LPGA
1995SENIOR Tour (Hale Irwin, Ray Floyd, Jack Nicklaus) -- PGA, LPGA
1994PGA Tour (Greg Norman, Fred Couples, Paul Azinger) -- SENIOR, LPGA
1993SENIOR Tour (Ray Floyd, Jack Nicklaus, Chi Chi Rodriguez) -- PGA, LPGA
1992LPGA Tour (Nancy Lopez, Dottie Pepper, Patty Sheehan) -- SENIOR, PGA

* - Won in Playoff

Top Players in the Field
PGA TourStewart Cink, Fred Couples, Bubba Watson
LPGA TourNatalie Gulbis, Cristie Kerr, Suzann Pettersen
Champions TourFred Funk, Jay Haas, Nick Price

Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Champions Tour
Darkhorse - LPGA Tour
Last Week's Pick to Win (Tiger Woods) - Finished tied for 6th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Sean O'Hair) - Finished tied for 62nd
Since its inception, this event has raised nearly $26 million for adoption. The 2008 tournament raised $3.7 million for the Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption. Established in 1992, the Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption works to raise awareness for the more than 130,000 children waiting for adoption and to educate prospective parents about the adoption process. Dave Thomas was adopted at birth and was a national advocate for the cause.

Last year, Nick Price fired a seven-under 65 to lead the Champions Tour trio to a win at the Wendy's Three-Tour Challenge. The challenge was split into front and back nine matches at Rio Secco Golf Club. Price posted a five-under 31 on the front side as the Champions Tour trio, that also included Fred Funk and Jay Haas, posted an 11-under total to win the front side by three over the PGA Tour group of Kenny Perry, Rocco Mediate and Stewart Cink. On the back nine, all three Champions Tour players carded two-under 34s to win the back nine by a single stroke over both the PGA and LPGA Tours. The LPGA was represented by Helen Alfredsson, Natalie Gulbis and Cristie Kerr.

This year's event will be held at Rio Secco Golf Club in Henderson, Nevada for the second straight year. Reflection Bay Golf Club in Lake Las Vegas Resort hosted this event seven times (1998-2000, 2003-04, 2006-2007). In 2005, SouthShore Golf at Reflection Bay hosted the tournament for the fourth time (1996-97, 2001, 2005). Other courses to host the event are: New Albany Country Club (1992), Colleton River Plantation (1993), PGA West (Nicklaus Resort Course - 1994), Muirfield Village Golf Club (1995) and Dragon Ridge Country Club (2002). Overall, Lake Las Vegas Resort played host to this event 11 times. The golf course was designed by Jack Nicklaus, his first design in Nevada.

In 2007, with a birdie on the first playoff hole, Kerr and her LPGA teammates Gulbis and Morgan Pressel defeated Champions Tour standouts Funk, Haas and Price to capture this event for the fourth time. Kerr sank a five-foot putt on the par-five 18th at Reflection Bay to lead the LPGA to its first win in this event since 2004. The PGA Tour, which placed last, was led by Bubba Watson, who carded an eight-under 64, as the PGA finished one shot out of the playoff.

In 2006, the PGA Tour squad of Cink, Zach Johnson and Scott Verplank came away victorious. The Champions Tour came in second, followed by the LPGA team. Johnson and Verplank shot rounds of 67, while Cink finished with 68. Craig Stadler shot 63 for the Champions Tour, while Haas and Tom Kite finished with 72. The LPGA Tour was led by Juli Inkster's 65 and Gulbis' 70. Kerr completed the LPGA scoring with 74.

The PGA Tour is led by 2009 British Open champion Cink. He is joined by United States Presidents Cup captain Fred Couples and Bubba Watson, who is playing in this event for the second time. The LPGA will be represented once again by Gulbis and Kerr, along with Suzann Pettersen, who is a first-timer at this event. For the third straight season, Haas, Funk and Price will represent the Champions Tour.

The PGA Tour has captured this event seven times, while the Champions Tour has garnered six Wendy's titles and the LPGA four.

11/11 13:09:57 ET

As of November 11, 2009, at 01:10 PM ET