Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - National Qualifying Tournament Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Tuesday, November 17th through Friday, November 20th
SITE: Tournament Players Club at Scottsdale (Champions Course), Scottsdale, AZ
COURSE ARCHITECT: Randy Heckenkemper (2007)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 7,115
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 371 Yds10 - Par 5 542 Yds
2 - Par 4 461 Yds11 - Par 4 474 Yds
3 - Par 3 174 Yds12 - Par 4 446 Yds
4 - Par 5 556 Yds13 - Par 3 164 Yds
5 - Par 4 477 Yds14 - Par 4 429 Yds
6 - Par 3 202 Yds15 - Par 4 359 Yds
7 - Par 4 393 Yds16 - Par 3 215 Yds
8 - Par 3 212 Yds17 - Par 5 605 Yds
9 - Par 5 575 Yds18 - Par 4 460 Yds
35 3,421 Yds36 3,694 Yds
Annual:  25th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Robert Thompson
Runner-Up:  John Morse
Tournament Record (72 Holes):  269 (Bob Gilder, 2000)
Tournament Record (108 Holes):  407 (Mark Johnson, 2004)
90-Hole Record:  341 (Don Reese, Hajime Meshiai, 2004)
54-Hole Record:  198 (Bob Gilder, 2000)
18-Hole Record:  62 (DeWitt Weaver, 1990 - Westin Mission Hills;
  Bill Holstead, 2000 - Bonnet Creek Golf Club)
Total Purse:  $200,000
Shares:  1st Place - $30,000; 2nd Place - $20,000; 3rd Place - $18,000
2008 Finish
Robert Thompson281Steve Thomas286
John Morse282Mike San Filippo287
Tom McKnight283Jay Don Blake288
Ronnie Black286Tim Conley289
James Mason286David Ogrin289
Past National Qualifying Tournament Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008Robert Thompson (281) -- John Morse
2007Rick Rhoden/Gene Jones (279) -- Mitch Adcock, Rick Karbowski
2006Boonchu Ruangkit (277) -- Ray Stewart
2005Massy Kuramoto (429) -- Kirk Hanefeld
2004Mark Johnson (407) -- Tom McKnight
2003Mark McNulty (275) -- Mark James
2002Des Smyth (275) -- Seiji Ebihara
2001Howard Twitty (276) -- Larry Ziegler
2000Bob Gilder (269) -- Bill Holstead, Terry Mauney
1999Mark Hayes (277) -- Howard Twitty, Stewart Ginn
1998Allen Doyle (275) -- Bruce Fleisher
1997David Lundstrom (276) -- Jose Maria Canizares
1996Bob Dickson (278) -- Will Sowles
1995Masaru Amano (279) -- John Jacobs, Bobby Stroble
1994Tommy Aycock (278) -- Walter Morgan
1993Bill Hall (284)
1992Larry Gilbert (276) -- Harry Toscano, Doug Dalziel, Bob Wynn
1991Dick Goetz/Tommy Aycock (292) -- J.C. Goosie, John Paul Cain
1990Simon Hobday (271) -- Jack Kiefer
1989Rocky Thompson (281)
1988Al Chandler (280)
1987Doug Dalziel (285)
1986Jim King (284)
1985Buck Adams (427)

Top Players in the Field
Fulton Allem3 PGA Tour victories, Won 1993 NEC World Series of Golf
Chip Beck4 PGA Tour victories, Won 1988 Los Angeles Open
Ronnie Black2 PGA Tour victories
Jay Don BlakeWon 1991 Shearson Lehman Brothers Open on PGA Tour
Curt ByrumWon 1989 Hardee's Golf Classic on PGA Tour
Bobby ClampettWon 1982 Southern Open on PGA Tour
Keith Clearwater2 PGA Tour wins, Won 1987 Colonial National Invitation
R.W. Eaks4 Champions Tour victories
Wayne Grady2 PGA Tour victories, Won 1990 PGA Championship
Gary Hallberg3 PGA Tour victories and 1 Nationwide Tour win
John HarrisWon 2006 Commerce Bank Championship on Champions Tour
Mark JohnsonWon 2005 Toshiba Senior Classic and 2004 Q-School
James MasonWon 2002 NFL Golf Classic on Champions Tour
John MorseWon 1995 United Airlines Hawaiian Open on PGA Tour
Joe Ozaki35 international victories
Boonchu RuangkitWon 2006 Champions Tour Q-School
Jim Rutledge6 Canadian Tour victories, 1 Nationwide Tour win
Peter Senior4 European Tour victories
Ron Streck2 PGA Tour wins, Won 2005 Commerce Bank on Champions Tour
Robert ThompsonWon 2008 Champions Tour Q-School
Bruce VaughanWon 2008 Senior British Open
Denis Watson3 PGA Tour wins, 4 Champions Tour wins

Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Chip Beck
Darkhorse - James Mason
Last Week's Pick to Win (Jay Haas) - Finished tied for 10th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Russ Cochran) - Finished 2nd
The Champions Tour qualifying tournament returns to Arizona for the second time as the Tournament Players Club at Scottsdale Champions Course plays host to 78 players seeking entrance to the over-50 circuit. This is the first year that the TPC at Scottsdale has hosted this event. The 1999 tournament was held in Arizona at the Omni Tucson National Golf Resort and Spa.

Last year, Robert Thompson carded a pair of late birdies in the final round to shoot two-under 70 and take medalist honors at this event. Thompson finished at seven-under-par 281. John Morse, who led after each of the first three rounds, closed with an even-par 72 to take second place at minus-six. Thompson and Morse played together in the final threesome and were steady to start their final rounds. Thompson ran off 10 straight pars to open his round. Morse parred the first five holes before dropping a shot on the sixth. He birdied seven and eight to move two ahead of Thompson. Morse reeled off eight consecutive pars from the ninth at the TPC at Eagle Trace. Thompson posted his first birdie on the 11th, but gave that shot back with a bogey on 13. He rebounded with birdies at 15 and 16 to join Morse in the lead at minus-seven. Morse, however, tripped to a bogey on 17, to end one back. Thompson also was co-medalist at the 1981 PGA Tour Q-School. Thompson joined Allen Doyle and Massy Kuramoto as the only players to earn medalist honors at the PGA Tour and Champions Tour Q-Schools.

Thompson will be on hand to defend his title, as he finished 66th on the 2009 Champions Tour money list with $206,997 in earnings. His best result was a tie for 11th at the AT&T Champions Classic in March and the Boeing Classic in August.

In 2007, former major league pitcher Rick Rhoden shared medalist honors with Gene Jones at this event. Rhoden, who held at least a share of the lead after all four days, closed with a three-under 69 in the final round. Jones had a four-under 68 to tie him. They ended at nine-under 279, four shots ahead of Mitch Adcock and Rick Karbowski. Rhoden, who shot par or better in all four rounds, made five birdies and two bogeys in the final round. He pitched 16 seasons in the major leagues with four different teams.

In 2006, Thailand's Boonchu Ruangkit fired rounds of 65-72-66-74 to come away with medalist honors at this event. Ruangkit went wire-to-wire to finish at 11-under-par 277 for a two-shot win over Ray Stewart. Ruangkit, a five-time winner on the Asian Tour, became the fourth international winner in five years and the sixth overall.

Players who failed to qualify for the final stage of Q-School were: Mike Donald, Donnie Hammond, T.C. Chen and David Ogrin.

The top-five finishers of this tournament will receive full exemptions in 2010 on the Champions Tour. The next seven finishers, Nos. 6-12, get conditional status next year. The top-30 and ties will also receive a portion of the $200,000 prize money.

Other states besides Arizona to host this event are: Florida (18) and California (5).

11/16 13:03:25 ET

As of November 16, 2009, at 01:03 PM ET