Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - 3M Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, July 10th through Sunday, July 12th
SITE: TPC of the Twin Cities, Blaine, Minnesota
COURSE ARCHITECT: Arnold Palmer (2000), Tom Lehman (Consultant)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,100
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 426 Yds10 - Par 4 379 Yds
2 - Par 4 388 Yds11 - Par 4 402 Yds
3 - Par 5 546 Yds12 - Par 5 593 Yds
4 - Par 3 177 Yds13 - Par 3 209 Yds
5 - Par 4 418 Yds14 - Par 4 423 Yds
6 - Par 5 571 Yds15 - Par 4 437 Yds
7 - Par 4 318 Yds16 - Par 4 387 Yds
8 - Par 3 204 Yds17 - Par 3 184 Yds
9 - Par 4 456 Yds18 - Par 5 582 Yds
36 3,504 Yds36 3,596 Yds
Annual:  17th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  Saturday -- 6:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  Sunday -- 7-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  Saturday/Monday -- 12-2 a.m. (et) - replay
Defending Champion:  R.W. Eaks
Runner-Up:  Gary Hallberg, Bernhard Langer
Tournament Record:  193 (R.W. Eaks, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  128 (R.W. Eaks, 2008)
Course Record:  62 (Dana Quigley, 2008)
Total Purse:  $1,750,000
Shares:  1st Place - $262,500; 2nd Place - $154,000; 3rd Place - $126,000
2008 Finish
R.W. Eaks193Mike Goodes202
Gary Hallberg199Tom Kite202
Bernhard Langer199Rod Spittle202
Gene Jones200Dana Quigley203
Ron Streck201Loren Roberts203
Jeff Sluman203
Past 3M Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008R.W. Eaks (193) -- Gary Hallberg, Bernhard Langer
2007D.A. Weibring (198) -- Jay Haas
2006David Edwards (204) -- Brad Bryant, Craig Stadler
2005Tom Purtzer (201) -- Lonnie Nielsen, Craig Stadler
2004Tom Kite (203) -- Craig Stadler
2003Wayne Levi (205) -- Morris Hatalsky, Gil Morgan
2002Hale Irwin (204) -- Hubert Green
2001Bruce Lietzke (207) -- Doug Tewell
2000Ed Dougherty (197) -- Hale Irwin, Gil Morgan
1999Hale Irwin (201) -- Jim Dent, Dale Douglass
1998*#Leonard Thompson (134) -- Isao Aoki
1997Hale Irwin (199) -- Lee Trevino
1996Vicente Fernandez (205) -- Bruce Crampton, J.C. Snead
1995Raymond Floyd (201) -- Graham Marsh
1994Dave Stockton (203) -- Jim Albus
1993Chi Chi Rodriguez (201) -- Jim Colbert, Bob Murphy

* - Won in Playoff

# - Rain Shortened

Note:Formerly called Burnet Senior Classic (1993-97), Coldwell Banker
Burnet Classic (1998-2000).

Top Contenders in the Field
R.W. Eaks---------T-11------T-25T-40T-26Won
Gary Hallberg---------------------------T-2
Bernhard Langer---------------------------T-2
Gene Jones---------------------------4th
Mike Goodes------------------------T-40T-6
Tom Kite------T-10T-28T-22WonT-5T-4T-62T-6
Dana QuigleyT-10T-25T-14T-58T-10T-13T-12T-55T-57T-9
Jeff Sluman---------------------------T-9
Hale IrwinWonT-2T-3WonT-40T-22T-25T-10T-4712th
David Edwards---------------------WonT-11T-15
Lonnie Nielsen---------------T-36T-2T-40T-16T-15
Morris Hatalsky------------T-2T-13T-8T-26T-40T-15
Ronnie Black---------------------------T-15
Joey Sindelar---------------------------T-15
Gil Morgan4thT-2T-3wdT-2T-13T-5T-4T-16T-24
Keith Fergus------------------T-25T-16T-26T-24
Tom Purtzer------------T-10T-3WonT-6T-30T-24
Scott Hoch------------------------T-36T-24
Jim ThorpeT-40T-7T-39---T-10T-10T-25T-20T-5T-30
John Cook---------------------------T-30
Scott Simpson---------------------T-26T-40T-36
John Harris---------T-32T-4031stT-36T-26T-3T-39
Bruce FleisherT-20---T-3T-7T-40T-44T-25T-2665thT-39
Bobby Wadkins------T-7T-28wdT-13T-25T-52T-8T-47
Fulton Allem---------------------------T-47
Andy Bean---------------T-10T-12T-16T-36T-57
Wayne Levi---------T-22WonT-22T-25T-10T-47T-62
Mark McNulty---------------T-22T-5T-26T-22T-65
Jay Haas------------------------2nd---
Bruce Lietzke------WonT-28T-16T-6T-8T-20T-16---
Dan Forsman------------------------------
Fred Funk------------------------------
Larry Mize------------------------------
Mark O'Meara------------------------------
Nick Price------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Fred Funk
Darkhorse - John Morse
Last Week's Pick to Win (Nick Price) - Finished tied for 10th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Craig Stadler) - Withdrew after second round
The Champions Tour visits Minnesota this week for the 3M Championship. Sixteen of the top-17 players on the money list will be teeing it up, led by three- time winner and money leader Bernhard Langer. Keith Fergus and Langer are the only multiple winners on the Champions Tour in 2009, with Fergus winning twice. Langer currently leads Loren Roberts by more than $500,000 on the money list. Roberts is not in the field this week.

Last year R.W. Eaks fired a seven-under 65 in the final round to cruise to a six-shot win over Langer and Gary Hallberg at the 3M Championship. Eaks claimed his third Champions Tour victory in near-record fashion, finishing three sparkling rounds at TPC Twin Cities with a 23-under-par 193. Only three players have ever scored lower in a Champions Tour event. Eaks collected an eagle and seven birdies with just two bogeys in the final round to run away with the win. Even while the leaderboard was bunching up behind him, Eaks kept his foot on the pedal. He birdied four of his last eight holes for the six- shot win.

In 2007, D.A. Weibring birdied his final three holes to overtake Jay Haas and win the 3M Championship. Weibring fired rounds of 65-66-67 to finish at 18- under-par 198. The victory was Weibring's fourth on the Champions Tour and first since 2005.

In 2006, David Edwards closed with a five-under 67 in the final round to win the 3M Championship by two strokes. Edwards completed his first Champions Tour win at 12-under-par 204. Edwards, who was a Champions Tour rookie in 2006, won an official event for the first time since the last of his four PGA Tour wins at the 1993 Heritage Golf Classic.

In 2005, Tom Purtzer led wire-to-wire to win the 3M Championship by one stroke over Lonnie Nielsen and Craig Stadler. In 2004, Tom Kite ended a nearly 22- month winless streak on the Champions Tour when he came from behind in the final round to win the title. Kite posted a three-under 69 in the final round to win by a stroke over Stadler. Kite ended a 47-tournament drought.

Winning the 3M Championship has been significant to the champion in 10 of the 16 previous tournaments. Chi Chi Rodriguez's victory in 1993 was the last of his 22 Champions Tour titles. Dave Stockton's victory in Minnesota was the last of his three wins in 1994. Vicente Fernandez (1996), Leonard Thompson (1998), Ed Dougherty 2000), Bruce Lietzke (2001), Wayne Levi (2003) and Edwards (2006) all earned their first Champions Tour titles at this event. Irwin's win in 1999 made him the tournament's first two-time winner and was the last of his five victories that season. Irwin's win in 2002 made him the tournament's first three-time winner.

Raymond Floyd is the only player to claim a PGA Tour and a Champions Tour event in the Twin Cities area. Floyd won the 1995 3M Championship (then called Burnet Senior Classic) 30 years after winning the second of his 22 PGA Tour titles at the 1965 St. Paul Open at Keller Golf Club.

Bunker Hills Golf Club hosted this event from 1993-2000, however, the Tournament Players Club of the Twin Cities took over as the host venue in 2001. Native Minnesotan Tom Lehman collaborated with Arnold Palmer on the design of the TPC of the Twin Cities, the 20th club within the PGA Tour's prestigious Tournament Players Club Network.

When Lietzke won in 2001, it came just 24 days after he turned 50 and made him the youngest winner in event history. There has been only one playoff in the event's history, coming in 1998, when Leonard Thompson defeated Isao Aoki in a rain-shortened tournament.

The Champions Tour travels across the Atlantic Ocean in two weeks for the second major championship of the year, the Senior British Open. Bruce Vaughan will defend his title at Sunningdale in England.

07/07 16:25:38 ET

As of July 7, 2009, at 04:25 PM ET