Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - Regions Charity Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, May 15th through Sunday, May 17th
SITE: Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Ross Bridge, Hoover, Alabama
COURSE ARCHITECT: Roger Rulewich and Bobby Vaughn (2005)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,503
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 442 yds10 - Par 4 417 yds
2 - Par 3 195 yds11 - Par 3 197 yds
3 - Par 5 592 yds12 - Par 4 429 yds
4 - Par 4 425 yds13 - Par 5 614 yds
5 - Par 4 410 yds14 - Par 3 176 yds
6 - Par 5 620 yds15 - Par 4 415 yds
7 - Par 4 467 yds16 - Par 5 571 yds
8 - Par 4 445 yds17 - Par 4 447 yds
9 - Par 3 180 yds18 - Par 4 461 yds
36 3,776 yds36 3,727 yds
Annual:  18th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  Saturday -- 6:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  Sunday -- 7-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Andy Bean
Runner-Up:  Loren Roberts
Tournament Record:  195 (Hale Irwin, 2001)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Hale Irwin, Gil Morgan, 2001)
18-Hole Record:  63 (Jack Kiefer, 1992; Graham Marsh, 1995; Terry Dill, 1998;
  Gil Morgan, 2001; Hale Irwin, 2002; Tom Kite, 2005)
Course Record:  63 (Jim Thorpe, 2006)
Total Purse:  $1,700,000
Shares:  1st Place - $255,000; 2nd Place - $149,600; 3rd Place - $122,400
2008 Finish
Andy Bean203Lonnie Nielsen207
Loren Roberts204Denis Watson207
Jeff Sluman205Walter Hall208
Mike Goodes206R.W. Eaks208
Bernhard Langer207Tom Jenkins208
Past Regions Charity Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008Andy Bean (203) -- Loren Roberts
2007*Brad Bryant (204) -- R.W. Eaks
2006Brad Bryant (199) -- Mark McNulty
2005D.A. Weibring (201) -- Tom Jenkins, Tom Kite
2004Bruce Fleisher (200) -- Bruce Lietzke, D.A. Weibring
2003Tom Jenkins (200) -- Bruce Fleisher
2002*Sammy Rachels (201) -- Dana Quigley
2001Hale Irwin (195) -- Stewart Ginn
2000*John Jacobs (203) -- Gil Morgan
1999Larry Nelson (205) -- Dana Quigley
1998Hubert Green (203) -- Hale Irwin
1997Jay Sigel (205) -- Gil Morgan
1996*John Bland (208) -- John Paul Cain, Kermit Zarley
1995Graham Marsh (201) -- J.C. Snead
1994Jim Dent (201) -- Bob Charles
1993Bob Murphy (203) -- Bob Charles, Lee Trevino, Larry Gilbert,
Kermit Zarley
1992George Archer (208) -- Jack Kiefer, Rocky Thompson

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Bruno's Memorial Classic (1992-2005).

Top Contenders in the Field
Andy Bean------------T-37T-25T-41T-39T-12Won
Loren Roberts---------------------T-6T-122nd
Jeff Sluman---------------------------3rd
Mike Goodes------------------------T-464th
Denis Watson------------------------T-3T-5
Lonnie Nielsen---------------T-11T-6T-29T-22T-5
Bernhard Langer---------------------------T-5
R.W. Eaks------------------40th---2ndT-8
Tom Jenkins---T-4T-14T-8Won4thT-2T-29T-22T-8
Walter HallT-18T-58T-28T-46T-32T-8T-45T-60T-22T-8
Brad Bryant------------------T-8WonWonT-11
Scott Hoch------------------------5thT-11
Keith Fergus------------------T-26T-11T-22T-11
Joey Sindelar---------------------------T-11
Don Pooley---------T-29------T-61T-15T-32T-20
David Eger------------T-51T-52T-64T-39T-46T-20
Mark Wiebe---------------------------T-20
Tim Simpson------------------------T-15T-30
Allen DoyleT-54T-4T-3T-15T-26T-33T-26T-11T-46T-30
Bruce FleisherT-18T-6T-19T-82ndWonT-8T-48T-61T-30
Larry NelsonWonT-20T-503rdT-45T-5T-26T-55---T-49
Hale IrwinT-18T-14Won4thT-3T-20T-6T-11T-6T-55
Mark W. Johnson------------------T-8T-11T-40T-55
Tom Kite---T-22T-3T-8T-18T-5T-2T-22T-372nd
Jay Haas------------------------T-35---
Dan Forsman------------------------------
Nick Price------------------------------
Eduardo Romero------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Loren Roberts
Darkhorse - John Cook
Last Week's Pick to Win (Mark O'Meara/Nick Price) - Finished tied for 7th
Last Week's Darkhorse (John Cook/Joey Sindelar) - Finished tied for 3rd
The Champions Tour travels to Alabama this week for the Regions Charity Classic. Twenty of the top-25 players on the money list are in the field, including every tournament winner in 2009. Bernhard Langer currently leads the money list with $954,700. Loren Roberts, who is second on the money list, trails Langer by more than $400,000. Bob Tway, who turned 50 on May 4th, will make his Champions Tour debut this week.

Last year, Andy Bean held off a late rally by Roberts in the final round to win the Regions Charity Classic. Bean led wire-to-wire with rounds of 65-68-70 to finish his second Champions Tour win at 13-under-par 203. Roberts ran off three straight birdies from the 14th to get within one of the lead, but he parred the final three to end one back. Roberts closed with a three-under 69 to finish alone in second at minus-12. Roberts was the only player in the field to shoot three rounds in the 60s.

In 2007, Brad Bryant successfully defended his title as he birdied the third playoff hole to defeat R.W. Eaks and win the Regions Charity Classic at Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa. Bryant not only became the first to repeat as champion at this event, but he also became the first multiple winner. Prior to 2007, the Regions Charity Classic was the only event on the Champions Tour schedule that had been played at least 15 years and did not have a repeat winner.

Bryant set a Champions Tour record by hitting 53 of 54 greens in regulation in 2006, breaking the old mark of 51 of 54 set by three players - Jay Sigel (1994 Northville Long Island Classic), John Paul Cain (1994 Ameritech Senior Open) and Lee Trevino (1995 Brickyard Crossing Championship). Bryant's only missed green was the 10th hole in the second round. He also became the 18th player in Champions Tour history to play an event without recording a bogey.

World Golf Hall of Fame member Seve Ballesteros played in his only Champions Tour event at the Regions Charity Classic in 2007, finishing tied for last. It was the last tournament that Ballesteros would play before announcing his retirement in July, 2007.

When Hale Irwin captured this event in 2001, he became the first player since Gary Player in 1998 at the Northville Long Island Classic to shoot the same score all three days and win. Irwin set a tournament record of 195 with his three consecutive 65s. Irwin has the most top-10 finishes at this event with eight.

Dana Quigley tied the Champions Tour all-time-record for consecutive birdies when he made eight in a row in the first round in 2005. He tied the record set by Chi Chi Rodriguez at the 1987 Silver Pages Classic and Jim Colbert at the 2000 TD Waterhouse Championship. Joe Ozaki matched the feat in 2006 at the Ford Senior Players Championship.

There have been four playoffs in the event's history. The first overtime session was in 1996, when John Bland prevailed over Kermit Zarley and John Paul Cain despite a bogey six on the third extra hole. In 2000, John Jacobs came from six strokes back to earn a spot in a playoff with Gil Morgan. Jacobs bested Morgan with a par five on the first extra hole. In 2002, Sammy Rachels defeated Quigley in extra holes. In 2007, Bryant defeated Eaks when he birdied the third playoff hole.

Since its inception in 1992, no winner of this event has shot a round higher than 71 and 13 of the 17 winners have started with rounds in the 60s.

Eight players who have led or been tied after 36 holes have gone on to win this event. George Archer was the first in 1992, followed by Graham Marsh (1995), Jay Sigel (1997), Larry Nelson (1999), Irwin (2001), Bruce Fleisher (2004), D.A. Weibring (2005) and Bean (2008).

The Champions Tour moves to Beachwood, Ohio next week for the first major of its season, the Senior PGA Championship at Canterbury Golf Club. Jay Haas captured last year's event at Oak Hill Country Club in New York.

05/12 16:51:39 ET

As of May 12, 2009, at 04:51 PM ET