Men's College Hockey
<    October    >

Boston University wins Beanpot

Boston, MA (Sports Network) - Nick Bonino, David Warsofsky and Colin Wilson scored short-handed and Boston University won the 57th annual Beanpot tournament Monday night with a 5-2 triumph over Northeastern.

Colby Cohen and Jason Lawrence also scored for the top-ranked Terriers, who moved to 15-1-1 over their last 17 games. That includes a current eight-game winning streak. Kieran Millan made 23 saves for Boston University, which captured its 29th Beanpot title.

Mike McLaughlin and Tyler McNeely had the goals for Northeastern, the third- ranked team in the nation. Brad Thiessen stopped 29 shots for the

Bonino was named the game's MVP, but Lawrence gave BU the lead with his third career game-winning goal in the Beanpot. It came at the 11:06 mark of the second on a tip-in from the right side of the net after a cross-ice pass from Chris Higgins.

It became a two-goal difference on a short-handed breakaway as Warsofsky scored on a shot from the right circle with 6:06 left. Just 30 seconds later, Wilson put the finishing touches on the victory by capitalizing on another 2- on-1 break while shorthanded, as he blasted the disc from the left circle past Thiessen. The two goals came after a slashing penalty on Joe Pereira.

In the consolation game, Benn Ferriero scored the go-ahead goal with 41.3 seconds left in regulation to give Boston College a 4-3 triumph over Harvard.

Since 1952, the Beanpot has matched the Boston area's four college hockey powers in a pair of doubleheaders for citywide supremacy. BU owns 12 of the past 15 championships.

02/10 00:19:18 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.