Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content
Canadian Professional Golf Tour

McCoy tops Gligic to win Wildfire Invitational

Peterborough, ON ( - Nate McCoy parred the fourth playoff hole on Sunday to beat Michael Gligic and win The Wildfire Invitational.

McCoy fired a 7-under 65 to get in at 19-under-par 269 at Wildfire Golf Club. He was joined there by Gligic, who closed with a 66 to force the extra session.

The duo returned to the 18th tee for the first two extra holes. Both players made par on those two holes. They shifted to the par-4 10th for the third playoff hole. Both again made par, and it was back to the 18th.

McCoy found the green with his third shot at the par-5. Gligic missed the green with his second and his chip failed to reach the putting surface. Gligic chipped his fourth to seven feet.

McCoy's birdie putt stayed above ground, but he tapped in for par. Gligic missed his par putt to give McCoy the title.

Jay Vandeventer shot 68 to grab third place at minus-18. John Ellis grabbed fourth at 17-under 271 after a final-round 66. Adam Cornelson and Max Gilbert both closed with 2-under 70s. They shared fifth place at minus-16.

Third-round leader Joe Panzeri stumbled to a 2-over 74 to fall into a share of 12th place at 14-under 274.

McCoy got off to a quick start with birdies on the first and fourth to move minus-14. After four pars in a row, McCoy poured in three consecutive birdies from the ninth.

The 24-year-old later birdied the 14th and 16th to move to 19-under. McCoy parred the final two holes to end there.

Gligic traded a birdie for a bogey from the second. He poured in three straight birdies from the fifth to jump to 16-under.

The 2012 ATB Financial Classic winner wrapped bogeys at nine and 12 around birdies on 10 and 11. Gligic forced the playoff as he birdied three of the last four holes.

NOTES: McCoy jumped to eighth on the PGA Tour Canada Order of Merit ... Joel Dahmen extended his lead over Timothy Madigan in the Order of Merit race to over $22,000 ... The tour heads to Nova Scotia next week for the Cape Breton Celtic Classic, where Mackenzie Hughes won last year.

08/31 17:38:11 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.