Other Sports

2013 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships - Day Three

By Steven Prebish and Jon Klinghoffer, Contributing Writers

Special to The Sports Network

Des Moines, IA (Sports Network) - In the final day of wrestling at the Wells Fargo Arena, the Penn State Nittany Lions won their third consecutive team title in a thrilling final night of action.

Leading Oklahoma State by only three points heading into the finals, the Nittany Lions got wins from Ed Ruth (by major decision) and Quentin Wright to outpace the second place Cowboys, who crowned two champions of their own, by four points. Rounding out the top five teams were Minnesota, Iowa and Cornell. Approximately 100,000 fans attended the three-day tournament, selling out the Wells Fargo Arena for all six sessions.

125 LBS: In the 125-pound battle, Jesse Delgado (Illinois) captured his first NCAA championship with an exciting 7-4 victory over two-time runner-up, Nico Megaludis (Penn State). In a 1-1 match in the third period, Delgado caught the game Megaludis in a cradle to secure his victory.

The other All Americans at 125 pounds were:

Third: Nahshon Garrett, Cornell Fourth: Alan Waters, Missouri Fifth: Trent Sprenkle, North Dakota State Sixth: Jarrod Garnett, Virginia Tech Seventh: David Thorn, Minnesota Eighth: Tyler Cox, Wyoming

133 LBS: In one of the night's marquee matchups, defending champion Logan Stieber (Ohio State) squared off against number two seed Tony Ramos (Iowa), whose only loss on the season was to Stieber in overtime at the Big Ten finals. Stieber extended his lifetime record against Ramos to 5-0 by winning his second straight NCAA title in a thrilling 7-4 match. The match was not without controversy as Iowa coaches felt Ramos had secured a takedown and back points to go ahead in the second period, but their challenge was denied.

The other All Americans at 133 pounds were:

Third: Tyler Graff, Wisconsin Fourth: A.J. Schopp, Edinboro Fifth: Jonathan Morrison, Oklahoma State Sixth: Chris Dardanes, Minnesota Seventh: Cody Brewer, Oklahoma Eighth: Nathan McCormick, Missouri

141 LBS: Oklahoma's Kendrick Maple completed his undefeated season with his first NCAA championship, beating Mitchell Port (Edinboro) 4-3 by virtue of riding time. Maple secured over two minutes of riding time and did just enough to fend off a frustrated Port.

The other All Americans at 141 pounds were:

Third: Hunter Stieber (Ohio State) Fourth: Undrakhbayar Khishignyam, Citadel Fifth: Michael Nevinger, Cornell Sixth: Evan Henderson, North Carolina Seventh: Nick Dardanes, Minnesota Eighth: Zach Neibert, Virginia Tech

149 LBS: Four time All-American and three time NCAA finalist, Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State), won his second championship, outlasting Jason Chamberlain (Boise State) 3-2 in a defensive battle, with a last second slide-by takedown.

The other All Americans at 149 pounds were:

Third: Steve Santos, Columbia Fourth: Dylan Ness, Minnesota Fifth: Scott Sakaguchi, Oregon State Sixth: Drake Houdashelt, Missouri Seventh: Ivan Lopouchanski, Purdue Eighth: Nick Brascetta, Virginia Tech

157 LBS: In a battle of the top two seeds in the weight class, Derek St. John (Iowa) survived a mad scramble at the end of the third period to hold on for a narrow 3-2 victory over Jason Welch (Northwestern). St. John adds the national championship to his prior second and fourth place finishes.

The other All Americans at 157 pounds were:

Third: Alex Dieringer, Oklahoma State Fourth: David Bonin, Northern Iowa Fifth: Roger Pena, Oregon State Sixth: Jedd Moore, Virginia Seventh: James Green, Nebraska Eighth: James Fleming, Clarion

165 LBS: In one of the most anticipated NCAA finals in years, Kyle Dake (Cornell) set a record which can never be broken, claiming his fourth consecutive national championship in four different weight classes. Rarely does a match live up to its hype, but when David Taylor (Penn State) scored the first takedown, Dake knew he was in for a battle. Dake's riding time advantage turned out to be the difference in the match which ended 5-4.

The other All Americans at 165 pounds were:

Third: Tyler Caldwell, Oklahoma State Fourth: Peter Yates, Virginia Tech Fifth: Conrad Polz, Illinois Sixth: Mike Moreno, Iowa State Seventh: Cody Yohn, Minnesota Eighth: Nick Sulzer, Virginia

174 LBS: With the tournament starting at the 174-pound weight class, the match between Chris Perry (Oklahoma State) and Matt Brown (Penn State) had team title implications in addition to the individual championship. Perry's 2-1 victory in overtime gave the Cowboys the first champion of the evening and temporarily moved them ahead of Penn State in the team standings.

The other All Americans at 174 pounds were:

Third: Robert Kokesh, Nebraska Fourth: Logan Storley, Minnesota Fifth: Nick Heflin, Ohio State Sixth: Mike Evans, Iowa Seventh: Jordan Blanton, Illinois Eighth: Cody Walters, Ohio

184 LBS: Ed Ruth (Penn State) put the Nittany Lions back in front in the team race with a convincing 12-4 win over Robert Hamlin (Lehigh). This was Ruth's second national title. Ruth's major decision victory added important bonus points to the Penn State team score.

The other All Americans at 184 pounds were:

Third: Steve Bosak, Cornell Fourth: Ben Bennett, Central Michigan Fifth: Ethan Lofthouse, Iowa Sixth: Jimmy Sheptock, Maryland Seventh: Ryan Loder, Northern Iowa Eighth: Mike Larson, Missouri

197 LBS: In an action packed match, Quentin Wright (Penn State) beat number one seed, Dustin Kilgore (Kent State), 8-6 to claim his second national championship. Kilgore, who had not been taken down the entire season, surrendered three takedowns to Wright in the match. Wright's victory also cemented the team title for the Nittany Lions.

The other All Americans at 197 pounds were:

Third: Matt Wilps, Pitt Fourth: Tyler Meeks, Oregon State Fifth: Scott Schiller, Minnesota Sixth: Kyven Gadson, Iowa State Seventh: Alfonso Hernandez, Wyoming Eighth: Blake Rosholt, Oklahoma State

HWT: In a rematch of the Big Ten championship, Anthony Nelson (Minnesota) again defeated Mike McMullen (Northwestern) to win his second NCAA title in as many years. McMullen was the lowest seeded wrestler to appear in the finals, but Nelson dashed McMullen's underdog dreams with a 6-2 win.

The other All Americans at Heavyweight were:

Third: Alan Gelogaev, Oklahoma State Fourth: Dom Bradley, Missouri Fifth: Zach Thomusseit, Pitt Sixth: Jarod Trice, Central Michigan Seventh: Odie Delaney, Citadel Eighth: Matthew Gibson, Iowa State

03/24 10:36:45 ET