Scores & Stats
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

Ty Dillon claims first truck pole at Charlotte

Concord, NC (Sports Network) - Rookie Ty Dillon became a first-time pole winner in the Camping World Truck Series after posting the fastest lap in Friday's qualifying for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Dillon, who was fastest overall in practice earlier in the day and therefore the last to qualify in the field of 41 drivers, turned a lap at 181.616 mph for his maiden pole in just his eighth truck start. He is the younger brother of 2011 series champion Austin Dillon and grandson of NASCAR multi-team owner Richard Childress.

Justin Lofton earned the outside pole with a lap at 181.500 mph. Joey Coulter, who is Dillon's teammate at Richard Childress Racing, qualified third, followed by Timothy Peters, the current points leader, and Jason Leffler.

Matt Crafton, Jason White, Cale Gale, Brad Keselowski, and James Buescher, who won the most recent truck race last month at Kansas, completed the top-10.

Johnny Chapman, Jeff Agnew, Norm Benning, B.J. McLeod and Wes Burton failed to qualify for Friday night's 200-mile race at Charlotte, which is scheduled to begin just after 8 p.m. (ET).

05/18 17:57:50 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.