Scores & Stats
Formula One

Formula One - Indian Grand Prix Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, October 28th
SITE: Buddh International Circuit (2011) -- New Delhi, India
TRACK: 5.141 km (3.192 miles), 16-turn road course
CAPACITY: 150,000
TELEVISION: Speed Channel
START TIME: 5:30 a.m. (ET)
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (Finished 1st)
LAPS: 60
MILES: 191.52 (307.249 km)
QUALIFYING RECORD: Sebastian Vettel, 2011 (1 minute, 24.178 seconds)
RACE RECORD: Sebastian Vettel, 2011 (1 hr., 30 mins., 35.002 secs.)
2011 Finish
1Sebastian Vettel16Nico Rosberg7
2Jenson Button47Lewis Hamilton5
3Fernando Alonso38Jaime Alguersuari10
4Mark Webber29Adrian Sutil8
5Michael Schumacher1110Sergio Perez20
2011 Indian Grand Prix Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 203.513 k.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 30 minutes, 35.002 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 8.433 seconds
FASTEST LAP: Sebastian Vettel, 1:27.249, Lap 60
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (1:24.178)
Past Indian Grand Prix Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Sebastian Vettel (1st) -- Red Bull-Renault -- 203.513 kph/1:30:35.002
Past Indian Grand Prix Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- Sebastian Vettel -- 1st
Last Race Results
RACE: Korean Grand Prix (October 14th)
SITE: Korean International Circuit -- Yeongam County, South Korea
LAPS: 55
MILES: 191.773 (308.630 km)
WINNER: Sebastian Vettel
RUNNER-UP: Mark Webber
THIRD: Fernando Alonso
FOURTH: Felipe Massa
FIFTH: Kimi Raikkonen
POLE WINNER: Mark Webber (Finished 2nd)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 36 minutes, 28.651 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 191.938 k.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 8.231 seconds
Indian Grand Prix Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1 *Sebastian Vettel (Germany)Renault/Red Bull
2Mark Webber (Queanbeyan, Australia)Renault/Red Bull
3Jenson Button (Frome, England)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
4Lewis Hamilton (Stevenage, England)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
5Fernando Alonso (Oviedo, Spain)Ferrari/Scuderia
6Felipe Massa (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Ferrari/Scuderia
7Michael Schumacher (Germany)Mercedes/AMG Petronas
8Nico Rosberg (Wiesbaden, Germany)Mercedes/AMG Petronas
9Kimi Raikkonen (Espoo, Finland)Renault/Lotus
10Romain Grosjean (Geneva,Switzerland)Renault/Lotus
11Paul di Resta (Livingston, Scotland)Mercedes/Force India
12Nico Hulkenberg (Emmerich, Germany)Mercedes/Force India
14Kamui Kobayashi (Amagasaki, Japan)Ferrari/Sauber
15Sergio Perez (Guadalajara, Mexico)Ferrari/Sauber
16Daniel Ricciardo (Perth, Australia)Ferrari/Scuderia Toro Rosso
17Jean-Eric Vergne (Pontoise, France)Ferrari/Scuderia Toro Rosso
18Pastor Maldonado (Maracay,Venezuela)Renault/Williams
19Bruno Senna (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Renault/Williams
20Heikki Kovalainen (Finland)Renault/Caterham
21Vitaly Petrov (Vyborg, Russia)Renault/Caterham
22Pedro de la Rosa (Barcelona, Spain)Cosworth/HRT
23Narain Karthikeyan (Chennai, India)Cosworth/HRT
24Timo Glock (Lindenfels, Germany)Cosworth/Marussia
25Charles Pic (Montelimar, France)Cosworth/Marussia
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last year)
Sebastian VettelWon
Jenson Button2nd
Fernando Alonso3rd
Mark Webber4th
Michael Schumacher5th
Nico Rosberg6th
Lewis Hamilton7th
Felipe Massa20th
Kimi Raikkonen---
Romain Grosjean---
Mover of the Week
Daniel Ricciardo - Started in the 21st position and finished 9th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Sebastian Vettel
Darkhorse - Romain Grosjean
Last Week's Pick to Win (Fernando Alonso) - Finished 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Nico Rosberg) - Finished 23rd
Three in a row and counting for Sebastian Vettel, as the Formula One circuit heads to India this week.

Vettel, the current points leader, trailed Fernando Alonso by 39 points heading into the Singapore Grand Prix. Three races later, Vettel is now six clear of Alonso with just four races remaining following his three consecutive wins in Singapore, Japan and Korea.

Alonso saw his advantage quickly dissipate following the Japanese Grand Prix, as he failed to gain points with his 23rd place finish. His third-place result in Korea pushed him back into second place for the championship.

Last season, Formula One made its inaugural visit to New Delhi, India, as Vettel claimed victory, one of 11 checkered flags for the two-time defending champion that year.

Vettel was untouchable on the newly built Buddh International Circuit. The then 24-year-old German started on the pole and led all 60 laps. He also posted the fastest lap time on the final circuit around the 3.192-mile course, as he finished 8.4 seconds ahead of runner-up Jenson Button from McLaren.

The idea of having a Formula One race in India dates back 14 years, but it was an agreement that took place in 2007 and delays that finally pushed the event back to late-October of 2011 before the event would become a reality.

Famed circuit architect Hermann Tilke designed the 5.1 km track with an estimated cost of $320 million. The venue itself is named after the Gautam Buddh Nagar district where it is located.

Formula One heads next to Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates for the November 4 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Lewis Hamilton is the defending race winner.

10/23 14:08:53 ET

As of October 23, 2012, at 02:09 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.