European Golf Tour
PGA European - Hong Kong Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, December 5th through Sunday, December 8th
SITE: Hong Kong Golf Club (Eden and New Courses), Fanling, Hong Kong
COURSE ARCHITECT: Unknown - New Course (1952)
         Peter Thomson and Michael Wolveridge - Eden Course (1982)
PAR: 70
YARDAGE: 6,699
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 468 Yds10 - Par 4 367 Yds
2 - Par 3 149 Yds11 - Par 4 466 Yds
3 - Par 5 551 Yds12 - Par 3 144 Yds
4 - Par 4 288 Yds13 - Par 5 529 Yds
5 - Par 3 192 Yds14 - Par 4 395 Yds
6 - Par 4 436 Yds15 - Par 4 426 Yds
7 - Par 4 380 Yds16 - Par 4 411 Yds
8 - Par 3 188 Yds17 - Par 4 406 Yds
9 - Par 4 493 Yds18 - Par 4 410 Yds
34 3,145 Yds36 3,554 Yds
Annual:  55th (15th as a co-sanctioned event)
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 6-9:30 a.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Miguel Angel Jimenez
Runner-Up:  Fredrik Andersson Hed
Tournament Record:  260 (Fredrik Jacobson, 2003)
54-Hole Record:  194 (Robert Karlsson, 2008; Gregory Bourdy, 2009)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Robert Karlsson, 2008)
Course Record:  61 (Henrik Bjornstad, 2002; Simon Yates, 2006)
Total Purse:  $1,300,000
Shares:  1st Place - $295,112; 2nd Place - $196,741; 3rd Place - $110,847
2012 Finish
Miguel Angel Jimenez265Matteo Manassero269
Fredrik Andersson Hed266Matt Kuchar271
Marcus Fraser268Michael Campbell272
Stephen Gallacher269Pablo Larrazabal272
Peter Lawrie269Five players at273
Past Hong Kong Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Miguel Angel Jimenez (265) -- Fredrik Andersson Hed
2011Rory McIlroy (268) -- Gregory Havret
2010Ian Poulter (258) -- Simon Dyson, Matteo Manassero
2009Gregory Bourdy (261) -- Rory McIlroy
2008*Wen-tang Lin (265) -- Francesco Molinari, Rory McIlroy
2007Miguel Angel Jimenez (265) -- K.J. Choi, Robert Karlsson,
Thongchai Jaidee
2006Jose Manuel Lara (265) -- Juvic Pagunsan
2005Colin Montgomerie (271) -- K.J. Choi, James Kingston, Keng-Chi Lin,
Edward Loar, Thammanoon Srirot
2004Miguel Angel Jimenez (266) -- Padraig Harrington, James Kingston
2003Padraig Harrington (269) -- Hennie Otto
2002Fredrik Jacobson (260) -- Jorge Berendt, Henrik Nystrom
2001Jose Maria Olazabal (262) -- Henrik Bjornstad
2000Simon Dyson (263) -- Kim Felton, John Kernohan, Charlie Wi
1999Patrik Sjoland (273) -- Ian Woosnam
1998Kang Wook-soon
1997Frank Nobilo
1996Rodrigo Cuello
1995Gary Webb
1994David Frost
1993Brian Watts
1992Tom Watson
1991Bernhard Langer
1990Ken Green
1989Brian Claar
1988Hsieh Chin-sheng
1987Ian Woosnam
1986Seichi Kanai
1985Mark Aebli
1984Bill Brask
1983Greg Norman
1982Kurt Cox
1981Chen Tse-ming
1980Kuo Chie-hsiung
1979Greg Norman
1978Hsieh Min-nan
1977Hsieh Yung-yo
1976Ho Ming-chung
1975Hsieh Yung-yo
1974Lu Liang-huan
1973Frank Phillips
1972Walter Godfrey
1971Orville Moody
1970Isao Katsumata
1969Teruo Sugihara
1968Randall Vines
1967Peter Thomson
1966Frank Phillips
1965Peter Thomson
1964Hsieh Yung-yo
1963Hsieh Yung-yo
1962Len Woodward
1961Kel Nagle
1960Peter Thomson
1959Lu Liang Huan
Note:Formerly called Perrier Hong Kong Open (1999), Omega Hong Kong Open

Top Contenders in the Field
Miguel A. Jimenez---WonT-38T-6WonT-24T-18mcT-11Won
F. Andersson Hed---mc------T-40------------2nd
Juvic Pagunsan---------2ndT-50T-7053rdT-3810thT-40
Gregory Havret---T-12T-30mc64thmcmcT-352ndT-61
Wen-tang Lin------------mcWonT-22T-25mcT-61
Jose Manuel Lara------T-18WonmcT-29wdT-47T-11mc
John Daly---------------T-17---56thT-21mc
Richard Finch------------mc------mc---mc
R. Cabrera-Bello------------------mc---T-15---
Jbe Kruger------------------mcT-38T-46---
Thorbjorn Olesen------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Thorbjorn Olesen
Darkhorse - Richard Finch
Last Week's Pick to Win (Charl Schwartzel) - Won
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jbe Kruger) - Finished tied for 52nd
NOTES:Miguel Angel Jimenez will attempt to do something at this event that
no one has done in 49 years -- win back-to-back titles. Jimenez will try to join Hsieh Yung-yo as the only consecutive winners. Yung-yo, a four-time champion, posted back-to-back wins in 1963-64. Jimenez, ranked 48th in the world, is the only player in the top 50 in the field.

Co-sanctioned between the European Tour and the Asian Tour, the field will comprise a split of players from each, as well as players from the Hong Kong Golf Association. This event is the longest-running sports event in Hong Kong, dating back to 1959. Past champions read like a who's who of superstars, as Greg Norman, Peter Thomson, Ian Woosnam, Tom Watson, Bernhard Langer, Jose Maria Olazabal, Padraig Harrington, Jimenez, Colin Montgomerie, Ian Poulter and Rory McIlroy are some of the previous winners.

A fixture on the Asian golfing circuit, the tournament will be staged at the Hong Kong Golf Club for the 13th straight year on its Composite Course, a combination of the best holes from the club's Eden and New Courses. The highly-rated layout has some memorable holes, best of which is the par-4 18th that shoots over a hill off the tee and runs down to the green which is guarded by a lake. The tree-lined course is a traditional and very established layout that is enjoyable to both play and walk.

Last year, Jimenez posted a 5-under 65 in the final round and won by a single stroke over Fredrik Andersson Hed. Jimenez finished at 15-under-par 265. It was his 19th victory on the European Tour, and third at this tournament. With the win, he became the oldest winner in tour history at 48. He also won for the 12th time since turning 40, which extended his own tour record

In 2011, McIlroy roared from behind with a 5-under 65 in the final round to win by two strokes over Gregory Havret. He finished the tournament by holing a bunker shot on the 18th, resulting in a display of exuberant joy across the 18th green.

Poulter carded rounds of 67-60-64-67 to earn a hard-fought victory in 2010 for his 10th European Tour title. Poulter finished at 22-under 258 and won by a single stroke over Matteo Manassero and Simon Dyson. Preferred lies were used throughout the week, including the second round when Poulter fired a 60.

Wen-tang Lin prevailed in a thrilling three-way playoff to claim his first European Tour win in 2008. The Chinese Taipei native tapped in a 1-foot birdie putt on the second extra hole to knock off McIlroy for the victory. Francesco Molinari of Italy was ousted on the first playoff hole.

In 2006, Jose Manuel Lara and Juvic Pagunsan battled throughout the final round. The turning point came at the par-4 16th, where Lara made birdie and Pagunsan faltered to a bogey. Lara went on to par the final two holes for a 1- under 69 to claim his first European Tour title at 15-under-par 265. He became the first player in tournament history to go wire-to-wire for the victory. Lara's final-round 69 was his worst of the week, as he carded 64-66-66 in the first three rounds.

The European Tour is in South Africa next week for the Nelson Mandela Championship, where Scott Jamieson won the rain-shortened event last year.

12/03 16:49:36 ET

As of December 3, 2013, at 04:49 PM ET