European Golf Tour
PGA European - The Nelson Mandela Championship
From The Sports Network

DATES: Wednesday, December 11th through Saturday, December 14th
SITE: Mount Edgecombe Country Club (Course One), Durban, South Africa
COURSE ARCHITECT: Sid Brews (1936), Hugh Baiocchi (1992)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,612
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 339 Yds10 - Par 4 401 Yds
2 - Par 4 361 Yds11 - Par 3 211 Yds
3 - Par 3 168 Yds12 - Par 5 558 Yds
4 - Par 4 292 Yds13 - Par 4 376 Yds
5 - Par 4 320 Yds14 - Par 5 570 Yds
6 - Par 4 419 Yds15 - Par 3 180 Yds
7 - Par 4 443 Yds16 - Par 4 446 Yds
8 - Par 5 552 Yds17 - Par 4 364 Yds
9 - Par 3 208 Yds18 - Par 4 404 Yds
35 3,102 Yds36 3,510 Yds
Annual:  2nd
Television:  Golf Channel - Wednesday -- 10 a.m.-1 p.m. (et) - taped
  - Thursday -- 6:30-10:30 a.m. (et),
  - Friday/Saturday -- 6-9:30 a.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Scott Jamieson
Runner-Up:  Steve Webster, Eduardo De La Riva
Total Purse:  $1,376,584
Share:  1st Place - $214,645; 2nd Place - $155,736; 3rd Place - $93,712
2013 Finish
Scott Jamieson *123Matthew Nixon124
Steve Webster123Morten Orum Madsen124
Eduardo De La Riva123Six players at125
Tim Clark124
Maximilian Kieffer124

* - Won in Playoff

Past Nelson Mandela Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012*#Scott Jamieson (123) -- Steve Webster, Eduardo De La Riva

* - Won in Playoff

# - Weather-Shortened

Top Contenders in the Field
Scott JamiesonWon
Jaco Van ZylT-8
Garth MulroyT-21
George CoetzeeT-39
Darren FichardtT-39
Branden GraceT-39
Thomas AikenT-70
Shiv Kapur---
Stuart Manley---
Romain Wattel---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Branden Grace
Darkhorse - Stuart Manley
Last Week's Pick to Win (Louis Oosthuizen) - Finished 4th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Charl Schwartzel) - Finished 2nd
The European Tour remains in South Africa this week for the Nelson Mandela Championship at Mount Edgecombe Country Club. Two of the top 100 players in the world are in the field - South Africans Branden Grace (49) and George Coetzee (91).

This week's tournament has been moved up one day and will be played Wednesday through Saturday due to the death of the event's namesake, Nelson Mandela. The former South African president passed away last week and his funeral will take place on Sunday.

Grace competed in his first Presidents Cup this year for the International team. He went 0-4 in those matches. The 25-year-old Grace had a breakout season in 2012, which saw him win four times on the European Tour. Grace graduated from the 2011 European Tour Qualifying School and became the first European Q-School graduate to win four times the year after graduation. He did not win in 2013, but finished second at the Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open.

This tournament is the fifth of eight European Tour events to be held in South Africa during the 2013-14 season, the most ever staged in the country in one year since the first European Tour event in South Africa in 1995.

Last year, Scott Jamieson parred both playoff holes to win the weather- shortened event. Jamieson fired an 8-under 57 in the final round on the shortened Royal Durban layout to finish at 7-under-par 123. He was joined there by Steve Webster and Eduardo De La Riva. De La Riva bogeyed the first extra hole, then Webster bogeyed the second extra hole. Jamieson made par both times to earn the win.

The 2012 tournament was the first official event to be cut to 36 holes since the 2002 Open de Portugal. It was the first time in European Tour history that there was no play on the first two days.

Last year, the first two days were washed out and the event was trimmed to 36 holes. Heavy rain pushed the start of the tournament back until Saturday, and with an overly saturated course, officials had to adjust several holes. Three holes at Royal Durban switched from par-4s to par-3s, while the par-5 14th was also changed to a par-3. With those changes, the par shifted from 70 to 65. Though Jamieson and Jaco Van Zyl both shot 57, they do not count in the record books with the shortened course and lift, clean and place rules being played.

The European Tour returns Jan. 9-12 for the Volvo Golf Champions, which Louis Oosthuizen won the previous year.

12/10 16:52:39 ET

As of December 10, 2013, at 04:52 PM ET