PGA Tour
PGA - The McGladrey Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, October 18th through Sunday, October 21st
SITE: Sea Island Resort (Seaside Course), St. Simons Island, Georgia
COURSE ARCHITECT: Harry S. Colt & Charles Alison (1929),
         Joe Lee (1973), Tom Fazio (1999)
PAR: 70
YARDAGE: 7,005
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 417 yds10 - Par 4 418 yds
2 - Par 4 415 yds11 - Par 4 425 yds
3 - Par 3 204 yds12 - Par 3 223 yds
4 - Par 4 429 yds13 - Par 4 408 yds
5 - Par 4 409 yds14 - Par 4 442 yds
6 - Par 3 179 yds15 - Par 5 565 yds
7 - Par 5 582 yds16 - Par 4 407 yds
8 - Par 4 368 yds17 - Par 3 192 yds
9 - Par 4 452 yds18 - Par 4 470 yds
35 3,455 yds35 3,550 yds
Annual:  3rd
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 11 a.m.-5 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Ben Crane
Runner-Up:  Webb Simpson
Tournament Record:  265 (Ben Crane, Webb Simpson, 2011)
54-Hole Record:  197 (Michael Thompson, 2011)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Billy Horschel, 2011)
Course Record:  62 (Charles Howell III, 2010; Trevor Immelman, 2011)
Total Purse:  $4,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $720,000; 2nd Place - $432,000; 3rd Place - $272,000
2011 Finish
Ben Crane *265Angel Cabrera270
Webb Simpson265Scott McCarron270
Michael Thompson266Nick O'Hern270
Louis Oosthuizen267Jeff Overton270
Trevor Immelman268Kevin Streelman270

* - Won in Playoff

Past McGladrey Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011*Ben Crane (265) -- Webb Simpson
2010Heath Slocum (266) -- Bill Haas

* - Won in Playoff

Top Contenders in the Field
Ben Crane---Won
Jim Furyk---T-11
Bryce Molder---T-11
Heath SlocumWonT-15
Sean O'Hair---T-15
Robert AllenbyT-3T-32
Henrik StensonmcT-32
David TomsT-3mc
Zach JohnsonT-12mc
Davis Love IIIT-33mc
Tim PetrovicT-45mc
Vijay Singh---mc
Jonas Blixt------
Jason Day------
Jason Kokrak------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Jim Furyk
Darkhorse - Tim Petrovic
Last week's Pick to Win (Nicolas Colsaerts) - Finished tied for 35th
Last week's Darkhorse (Jonas Blixt) - Finished 1st
The PGA Tour travels to Georgia this week for The McGladrey Classic at the Seaside Course at Sea Island Resort in St. Simons Island, Georgia. Three of the top 40 players in the world are competing this week - Sea Island resident Zach Johnson (16), Jim Furyk (23) and David Toms (40). Johnson and Furyk are playing for the first time since the Ryder Cup. United States Ryder Cup captain and Sea Island resident Davis Love III is also in the field and will be the tournament host.

This is the third event of the Fall Series. Ryan Moore captured the Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open two weeks ago, and Jonas Blixt won the Open last week.

The Seaside Course is ranked as one of the top-100 courses in the United States by Golf Digest. It is situated on the southern tip of St. Simons Island and is a true oceanside course. Seaside was originally built as a nine-hole course by Harry S. Colt and Charles Alison in 1929. Joe Lee designed the Marshside nine in 1973. Tom Fazio transformed the two nines into the current Seaside Course in 1999. The tournament sponsor, McGladrey, is one of the country's leading accounting, tax and business consulting firms.

Last year, Ben Crane poured in eight birdies in a 10-hole span in the final round to get into a playoff, providing him the opportunity to 2-putt for par on the second playoff hole to beat Webb Simpson. Crane fired a 7-under 63 in the final round and joined Simpson at 15-under-par 265. Crane's 63 was the lowest final round by a winner on the PGA Tour in 2011.

In 2010, Heath Slocum made a key 60-foot birdie putt from off the 16th green to win by one shot over Bill Haas. With a sturdy stroke, Slocum sent his ball motoring toward the hole from the far side of the green. The putt, traveling too fast for all its 20 yards, was stopped dead in its tracks by the flag stick and dropped into the cup.

Next week, the PGA Tour heads to Malaysia for the CIMB Classic at The Mines Resort & Golf Club in Kuala Lumpur, where Bo Van Pelt captured the 2011 title. In addition, the PGA Grand Slam of Golf will take place in Bermuda, as Ernie Els, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson and defending champion Keegan Bradley battle it out. Bradley will be filling in for Rory McIlroy, who committed to the BMW Masters on the European Tour.

10/16 17:28:12 ET

As of October 16, 2012, at 05:28 PM ET